Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-12-2010, 06:52 PM   #1
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Share |
Default

Freon on the water.


Does water coming from the drain line ( outside the house ) can have freon indicating that the evaporator coil is leaking?

Thanks
jjboy2k

JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 07:05 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,732
Default

Freon on the water.


Highly unlikely, due to Freon is a pressurized liquid that turns into a gas when it escapes into the atmosphere.

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 07:25 PM   #3
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Freon on the water.


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Highly unlikely, due to Freon is a pressurized liquid that turns into a gas when it escapes into the atmosphere.

The air conditioning technician used an electronic freon leak test on water. The test made a strong sound. He shows me the Gauge (blue) with 54 psig - 28F and explain to me that the suction line when is under 32F makes the line freeze.

Do you thing the evaporator coil is leaking and needed to be change?
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 07:56 PM   #4
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Freon on the water.


I have used dye.. You can have him pressure test the A coil
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 09:07 PM   #5
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Freon on the water.


Drain lines can be used to check for a leak. The leak would have to be moderately heavy but r22 is heavier than air and will eventually settle to the lowest point available and can be detected at the drain exit point.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 04:29 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,389
Default

Freon on the water.


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
Does water coming from the drain line ( outside the house ) can have freon indicating that the evaporator coil is leaking?

Thanks
jjboy2k
Yes it can.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 05:03 AM   #7
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Freon on the water.


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Yes it can.

LOL i was service manager (for about a hour lol) of an engineer firm that did custom hvac systems for churches.

One system was four years old and had never held a charge over the summer.

Twenty ton condenser suction and liq line ran under ground to inside custom made furnace. Thee were two 900k furnaces..real nice set up a pleasure to work on.

I was leak checking with my h10a. I put the sensing wand down near the condensate drain. Five minutes later I find five ware holes in the evap.
I localized the leaks with the H10 and than got closer with a halide and finally soap bubbles pinpointed the problem.

The coil should have been covered by warranty cause it leaked from day one. Boss was too whipped by his wife to make righteous demand it be replaced.

The OEM's idea of a fix was to cut the bad passes at the 3/8 elbows and install lengths of 5/16 tubing.

When the boss told me he wanted that done I refused because the evap superheat would have been all wrong.

I refused to do it because the evap super heat would have been all wrong and would have killed the CU.

I quit/was canned take your pick. But I was not going to screw a church with a hack repair.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.

Last edited by hvaclover; 10-13-2010 at 08:14 PM.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 06:18 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,214
Default

Freon on the water.


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
The air conditioning technician used an electronic freon leak test on water. The test made a strong sound. He shows me the Gauge (blue) with 54 psig - 28F and explain to me that the suction line when is under 32F makes the line freeze.

Do you thing the evaporator coil is leaking and needed to be change?
The mechanic that did that knew his job and knew how to look for a leak the right way. things that a newcomer would not even think of.. don't let that mechanic get away trust him with the repair/replacement.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 08:10 PM   #9
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Freon on the water.


Quote:
Originally Posted by COLDIRON View Post
The mechanic that did that knew his job and knew how to look for a leak the right way. things that a newcomer would not even think of.. don't let that mechanic get away trust him with the repair/replacement.
Damn right he did
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 09:52 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 260
Default

Freon on the water.


Why don't you ask him put the leak detector right next to the A-coil and check to see if the coil is leaking ?
clocert is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 12:34 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,214
Default

Freon on the water.


Quote:
Originally Posted by clocert View Post
Why don't you ask him put the leak detector right next to the A-coil and check to see if the coil is leaking ?
Whaaaaaaaat?
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 02:32 PM   #12
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Freon on the water.


Quote:
Originally Posted by COLDIRON View Post
Whaaaaaaaat?
Forget it Cold, probably some hateful person trolling..
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 03:29 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,214
Default

Freon on the water.


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Forget it Cold, probably some hateful person trolling..
I agree forgetaboutit
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 03:32 PM   #14
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Freon on the water.


Quote:
Originally Posted by clocert View Post
Why don't you ask him put the leak detector right next to the A-coil and check to see if the coil is leaking ?


That was you'll know if it's really leaking

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
freon on the water.


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sump pump pit water level --- problem de12 Plumbing 49 02-27-2011 01:42 PM
Gas Water Heater, water not hot enough - Thermostat or Sediment makunag Plumbing 15 08-27-2010 11:00 PM
Well Water snuggles2010 Plumbing 3 04-13-2010 01:36 PM
How Do I Properly Shock Chlorinate a Water Softner classicflytyer Plumbing 5 07-14-2009 12:15 AM
Low Hot Water Pressure btennant Plumbing 4 12-09-2008 09:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.