Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-24-2010, 12:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

Forced Air Heater problems


Just moved into my first house, one of the first things I replaced was the old dial thermostat that contained mercury. I replaced it with a digital Hunter.
The heater would normally click once to ignite, after about 45 seconds the blower would kick on. Lately I have started to notice that the ignition will continuously keep clicking, even after the blower turns on it continues to click. The heater displays that it's Normal Call For Heat, no other error code flashes.
I tried switching thermostats again to a Honeywell digital, it still continues to click. I also had an HVAC technician come in and of course my heater worked perfectly the entire time he was here, waste of a $100. So I am reluctant to call in another technician. Does anyone know what might be the problem? Is it possibly an easy fix?

Any help is appreciated, thanks.

retoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 12:37 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,256
Default

Forced Air Heater problems


Post make, model # and pics of unit with both front doors off and burner area.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 01:00 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Forced Air Heater problems


American Standard - Model# ADX060C936D


IMG_3112 by retoid, on Flickr

IMG_3114 by retoid, on Flickr


IMG_3116 by retoid, on Flickr


Here is a link to a video i took of it, you can hear the clicking.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/retoid/5108367474/

Last edited by retoid; 10-24-2010 at 01:03 PM.
retoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 01:27 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,256
Default

Forced Air Heater problems


Try remove the tstat wires and jumper R to W and see if it stays on. Check your vent pipes for blockage. May be tripping on the pressure switch from blockage.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 01:48 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Forced Air Heater problems


which is the vent pipe?
the black pipe/tube on the bottom?
retoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 01:51 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,256
Default

Forced Air Heater problems


The plastic pipe coming out of the furnace. Otherwise you need to get an experienced tech to check the pressure switch etc while it is acting up. May have a bad relay on the board. Condensate trap may be plugging up etc. Gone for awhile now. Good Luck
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 02:01 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Forced Air Heater problems


Ok thanks.
I removed the vent pipe, and vacuumed out most of the lint, though there was hardly any. Nothing noticeably blocking the passage.
retoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 11:24 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Forced Air Heater problems


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Try remove the tstat wires and jumper R to W and see if it stays on. Check your vent pipes for blockage. May be tripping on the pressure switch from blockage.
Removed the wires, as soon as i remove the tstat it initiates shut down.
I tried removing the jumper, didnt affect the continuous clicking.

The clicking sound seems to be coming from the smaller black box above the pressure switch.
retoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 11:27 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Forced Air Heater problems


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
The plastic pipe coming out of the furnace. Otherwise you need to get an experienced tech to check the pressure switch etc while it is acting up. May have a bad relay on the board. Condensate trap may be plugging up etc. Gone for awhile now. Good Luck
This is my problem, it's an automatic $100 visit from the HVAC technician, last time he came nothing was wrong. After he left it acted up again. Last night it was clicking a lot, this morning it is not.

I am eager to learn how to fix this myself. What would an experienced technician do to test the pressure switch while it's acting up?

Thanks

retoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I am having problems with my fuel oil pool heater fred Disk HVAC 4 09-06-2010 10:10 AM
Problems with water heater jwise Plumbing 11 02-26-2010 07:36 PM
REZNOR gas shop heater WHOOMP ! on ignition Wildcat355 HVAC 14 01-29-2010 05:57 PM
Which Gas Hot Water Heater walds11 Plumbing 66 01-16-2010 07:38 AM
Wiring to a water heater bvsmith_1974 Electrical 3 09-03-2008 03:32 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.