Forced Air Furnace - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-23-2011, 09:53 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

forced air furnace


I have heard a lot of good things about the GOODMAN furnaces. Does anyone know what size i should get for a 3000 sqft home in toronto?

Advertisement

kentemm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 01:24 PM   #2
vln
Underwriter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 75
Default

forced air furnace


Try Rheem or Trane/Carrier.

Goodman isn't that good, its your basic furnace.

Advertisement

vln is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to vln For This Useful Post:
kentemm (06-23-2011)
Old 06-23-2011, 04:19 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

forced air furnace


i want cheap as I will be selling soon
kentemm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 04:32 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,420
Rewards Points: 2,502
Default

forced air furnace


So, basically you want to go cheap, so the next homeowner will be stuck with the problem. As for your question, no one can tell you, due to there are too many variables. You would have to do a Manual J. There is a program available that has been posted in this forum many times, that you can run to help, or do like most, and get ahold of a few hvac contractors that are reputable, and have them do a scope of work, and run the manual j.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 04:39 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

forced air furnace


i didnt think putting in a Goodman was sticking someone with "a problem" You think they are that bad? Like a Pinto?
kentemm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 05:02 PM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,420
Rewards Points: 2,502
Default

forced air furnace


For some they think so. A hvac system is only as good as the installer that put it in, and the person that owns the home maintaining it.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 05:19 PM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,112
Rewards Points: 862
Default

forced air furnace


The Goodmans produced in the last 5 years are very good. Before that not so good and that gave them a bad reputation along with a lot of heat exchanger failures in the mid efficiency units a long time ago. They are identical to Amana units now and Amana has always been good quality. What type of furnace do you have now? pilot light type or mid efficiency with a pipe to the chimney. Post the BTUs input here and I can narrow it down 4U. Best way is to do a heat loss calc for a few bucks.
Load Calculator
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 08:37 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,524
Rewards Points: 4,686
Default

forced air furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by kentemm View Post
i want cheap as I will be selling soon
So is cheap what you also want in your n new home?
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (06-23-2011)
Old 06-24-2011, 12:07 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

forced air furnace


Well I have had my furnace for 18years, i change my filters regularily, i check the flame to make sure it is blue, i look for flutters in the flame when i turn on the fan and I keep my CO detectorsin working order. Now this furnace may have been a builders cheapie for all i know but we are warm in the winter and cool in the summer. It is time to change it out even though it appears to be working fine. With a new furnace I will save gas and eletricity. So, no I dont care what kind of furnace my new home has because I feel they are all generally good.
kentemm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 05:20 AM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,524
Rewards Points: 4,686
Default

forced air furnace


Quote:
So, no I dont care what kind of furnace my new home has because I feel they are all generally good.
They are all generally good.

However, some brands aren't supported as well in some areas as others. So parts availability varies for different brands in different areas. So selecting a brand because its cheap is not a wise decision, if parts availability is not good. It could break down while you still own and live in the house, leaving you the one waiting for a part, and with no heat.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 04:51 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 02:45 AM
newmac wood/oil combo forced air furnace questions CowboyAndy HVAC 2 09-22-2008 06:17 PM
Goodman GMP100-3 Forced Air Furnace Will Not Ignite Meerkat HVAC 4 02-05-2008 09:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts