Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-05-2010, 10:48 PM   #1
DYI Novice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 19
Share |
Default

Forced Air Blower is too noisy, blows too much air too fast


Hey guys,

Novice HVAC guy here with some schooling in hvac but no field experience. I will provide as much information as possible.

I have a ground level ranch on a slab.
My ducts are in my concrete slab.
I have a standard efficiency down flow weatherking forced air system of an unknown model approx 10 y/o.


My issue is the blower. The blower, whether on heat or cooling, is just too much! The airflow is way too fast and the CFM is crazy! It causes the house to feel drafty and ice cold when the thermostat is set at 74 in the summer. Candles flicker and my curtains flap! Today I tried to close the vents in the "occupied rooms" and dump most of the air in the vacant rooms (to limit the drafty feeling). The closed vent, though on the same tree as the open ones..... whistled like a sailor and still forced in a lot of air!! And the open vent at the end of the tree blew my curtains like an american flag on a windy day!

I have two main trees that split like an "H" with the furnace in the middle. I have 4 vents off one side and 6 off the other airflow seems pretty even throughout the house. I know in hvac, most people want MORE airflow and cooling, not me.

Is it possible to slow down the blower motor, which will also make it quieter and less drafty?!?!
Could a DYI'er do it?
Would it be worth having a hvac tech look at it?

Thanks ahead of time guys!

hawks81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 11:12 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,381
Default

Forced Air Blower is too noisy, blows too much air too fast


It can usually be slowed down.
However. If your unit is oversized. It may not be possible to slow it down, And still have it work without freezing up.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 11:15 PM   #3
DYI Novice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 19
Default

Forced Air Blower is too noisy, blows too much air too fast


Would it be a simple wiring change or something more dramatic?

I have not checked the temperature coming out of the vents, but it doesnt appear to be that cold. I should have noted that in the winter the house warms nicely but the air leaving the vents isnt that warm.

I think the blower is moving the air too fast across the plenum?
hawks81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 11:19 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,381
Default

Forced Air Blower is too noisy, blows too much air too fast


On some units its just a simple wire move.
On others, its a set of jumpers/DIP switches that need changed.

Look at the instructions in your install manual. Or, on the blower door panel.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
hawks81 (07-06-2010)
Old 07-06-2010, 12:28 AM   #5
DYI Novice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 19
Default

Forced Air Blower is too noisy, blows too much air too fast


Ok. The blower panel had a wiring diagram that showed the following:

Blower wiring harness:

Red - Low (Unused motor lead according to the diagram)
Blue - Med
Black - High
White - Com

The circuit board has connectors for :
EAC
MI
Cool
Heat

This was how it was wired (which was according to the diagram):
EAC - capped with a plastic cap
MI - Red
Heat - Blue
Cool - Black
Neutral - White

If I am reading this right, the low speed is not being utilized at all. So, I swapped out the black for the red and the blower did marginally get quieter and not push as much air. My wife couldn't notice the difference. Again, I said it was marginal! The blower, however, did start smoother and didn't make that "reviving up" sound! AKA that "whirring" sound until it reaches full speed after like 2 seconds.

The vents still seems to be pushing more CFM than needed. The farthest vent from the furnace is still pouring more than enough air. Was this my only available option to change the speed? Could it simply be that my blower is overpowered for this house? I have a 1600 sq ft ranch.

Last edited by hawks81; 07-06-2010 at 01:22 AM. Reason: clarification
hawks81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 05:53 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,381
Default

Forced Air Blower is too noisy, blows too much air too fast


That it the slowest blower speed that furnace has.

Your furnace is oversized for your house. Or your duct work is undersized for your furnace.You can't put in a smaller/slower blower, because it wouldn't move enough air for the furnace to stay cool enough..
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
hawks81 (07-06-2010)
Old 07-06-2010, 07:09 AM   #7
DYI Novice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 19
Default

Forced Air Blower is too noisy, blows too much air too fast


Thank you very much!

hawks81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant Plus 90 - No Blower Ducaticorse HVAC 11 10-16-2012 08:39 PM
Heat comes on but blower never does aczer HVAC 12 02-13-2011 06:57 AM
Blower shuts off even when set to 'on' fetzer85 HVAC 1 07-05-2010 11:48 AM
Blower cycling and vibration whatshappening HVAC 1 02-09-2010 04:48 AM
Carrier 58MXA Wiring Blower Switch 63012753 HVAC 0 10-06-2009 09:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.