Focus Pro Thermostats - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2013, 12:57 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 151
Rewards Points: 81
Default

Focus pro thermostats


Anyone having problems lately with the Honeywell Focus Pro stats?
I installed 2 focus pro 5000's and 2 focus pro 6000's and had to remove them due to erratic operation. Just wondering if its just me.

Thank you

Advertisement

kirwinjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 01:23 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,112
Rewards Points: 862
Default

Focus pro thermostats


no problems whatsoever with all the ones I have used. what kinda erratic operation exactly are we talking about and with what brand of furnace etc. you gotta be very careful how you stick them onto the back plate to not damage pins etc and never use wire less than #18 gauge and make sure all the connections are down to bare copper if using older wiring.

Advertisement

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (03-08-2013)
Old 03-08-2013, 02:45 PM   #3
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,552
Rewards Points: 620
Default

Focus pro thermostats


I installed two pro 6000's in the last two weeks that seemed a good two degrees out of factory calibration. Both showed a consistant higher temp reading over true temp.
I've decided to go with thermostats which could be field recalibrated if nessesary.

Last edited by how; 03-08-2013 at 02:47 PM.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to how For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (03-08-2013)
Old 03-08-2013, 04:02 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,521
Rewards Points: 4,682
Default

Focus pro thermostats


Haven't had any problems with them myself.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 05:38 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicago/NWI
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Focus pro thermostats


I too would like to know what kind of erratic operation your talking about. I don't install Focus Pro's in volumes so I can't say much except I've never had a problem with the several I've dealt with/installed. I have seen many erratic or poor behaving thermostats though. They were all White-Rodgers or other odd brands. None of the Honeywell Pro series have given me problems.
gusherb94 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gusherb94 For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (03-08-2013)
Old 03-08-2013, 10:26 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Focus pro thermostats


I have had to pull a couple in the past month. Both would hang up on the desired setpoint and never cut off. I also have had problems in the past month with a couple of the 8000's. On one the touch screen was inoperative in places and the other just did whatever it wanted. You could stick it in heat and it would switch to cool and so on. I replaced all of mine with the same thermostats. Honeywell stands behind thier stuff well. It definately isnt the same stat it was 6 years ago but still heads and tails above anything else on the market. I have had several stats that the backlight wouldnt stay on even if told so. I let that issue ride. I install at least one a day and some days up to three. Percentage wise, I havent had any significant problems to get me really worried yet.
Patrick Eubanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 12:05 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 151
Rewards Points: 81
Default

Focus pro thermostats


Thanks all for the input.
I've installed dozens of the focus pros over the last few years and they've been great.
It was just the last few that have given me problems. The first problem was (according to the customer ) that the differential was so tight that it was short cycling. I eliminated all other possible causes for short cycling before pulling the stat off. Unless I'm just not seeing it, the differential appears to be fixed and cannot be changed. If I'm wrong please explain where I can increase it to 2 degrees.
Other problems was that that the 6000 would only maintain 70 degrees in the house regardless of set point. The next day, thermostat would respond to set point properly.
New thermostat, problem solved. Just a lot of expensive gas used
kirwinjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 01:31 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicago/NWI
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Focus pro thermostats


Quote:
Originally Posted by kirwinjd View Post
Thanks all for the input.
I've installed dozens of the focus pros over the last few years and they've been great.
It was just the last few that have given me problems. The first problem was (according to the customer ) that the differential was so tight that it was short cycling. I eliminated all other possible causes for short cycling before pulling the stat off. Unless I'm just not seeing it, the differential appears to be fixed and cannot be changed. If I'm wrong please explain where I can increase it to 2 degrees.
Other problems was that that the 6000 would only maintain 70 degrees in the house regardless of set point. The next day, thermostat would respond to set point properly.
New thermostat, problem solved. Just a lot of expensive gas used
On the first issue you need to ignore what the instructions recommend and set the CPH between 1 and 3. Any more then that and it will cycle way too often. I'm assuming this is gas forced air or hot water heat. If it's hot water I'd lean towards 1 CPH, and forced air, 3.

I've had a White-Rodgers touchscreen stat do this. Only in heating mode and it wouldn't shut off no matter what you did. Only thing to do was a battery pull then it behaved fine afterwards. Happened twice.

Advertisement

gusherb94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Two Thermostats Question tim2255 HVAC 9 01-03-2012 11:13 PM
Lutron Thermostats ChrisDIY HVAC 4 10-24-2011 09:45 AM
2 wire thermostats in parallel? DragonFire Electrical 11 01-22-2011 01:50 PM
Some White Rodgers Thermostats Recalled diyorpay HVAC 0 01-13-2011 10:21 AM
Programmable thermostats, heat pumps and aux heat Crunkleton HVAC 3 04-21-2009 06:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts