Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-13-2010, 10:33 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 447
Rewards Points: 264
Default

Flue Question


I am planning on buying a new Hot Water tank style heater. It's a natural or gravity(?) vent. When I do this, I plan on moving it to a new spot about 10' away.

Currently it vents into a seperate, non-lined opening in my chimney stack. The furnace vents right next to this and it also is non-lined. Sometime in the future I plan on running a flex duct down the chimney and lining it, but until then...

So the actual question is can I place a "Y" into the flue of the furnace right before it gets to the chimney and vent the hot water tank into this? Then plug the old opening of the hot water flue. I am pretty sure someone once said it's possible, but I want to make 100% certain. My furnace is about 7-9yrs old, it was here when I bought the house. It seems like it has a small blower right at the base of the flue, but I'll have to double check.

In any case, I can provide pics and models of everything, just need to know what you need to know....

Thanks!

Master Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 06:22 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Flue Question


Yes you can. Be aware that the morter in the chimney is turning to sand with no liner. It will fall apart one of these days.

Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 07:19 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,561
Rewards Points: 2,802
Default

Flue Question


What size is the chimney flue that the furnace vents to. It could be too big for the water heater, or too small for both the water heater and furnace.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 09:15 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 447
Rewards Points: 264
Default

Flue Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty S. View Post
Yes you can. Be aware that the morter in the chimney is turning to sand with no liner. It will fall apart one of these days.
I know it isn't good on the morter. Luckily my neighbor, who is a good friend, is a brick mason if I need any work done in that dept. But never the less, I plan to get it lined in the near future. I actually had two people come out to give me a quote and both told me I could easily do it myself.

What I'd really like to find is someone in my area that does the pour in liner, where they insert an inflatable tube for the liner, then pour a lightweight cement mix into the stack thus giving a permanent liner and bonding the stack together once again from the inside out....

Don't know the name for this, but I've seen it done on This Old House or something like that.
Master Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 09:18 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 447
Rewards Points: 264
Default

Flue Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
What size is the chimney flue that the furnace vents to. It could be too big for the water heater, or too small for both the water heater and furnace.
I'll try to get that answer tomorrow. I'm guessing 3", maybe 4" at max. Both are the same size, from what I recall....

If I need to go bigger, that isn't an issue. As I mentioned earlier my neighbor is a brick mason and he's actually going to help me or lend me his tools and direction so that I may cut a hole in the chimney to install a clean out, so that I can more easily hook up my liner(s).
Master Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 09:26 PM   #6
Concrete & Masonry
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,737
Rewards Points: 2,026
Default

Flue Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Master Brian View Post
Don't know the name for this, but I've seen it done on This Old House or something like that.

There's a very knowledgeable, limey mason here from over the pond that has listed pics & discussed this exact procedure on this site in the past.

Come out Stuart, wherever you are..........

jomama45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 Phase meter socket question a320200 Electrical 4 12-11-2009 12:45 AM
gas hot water tank vent & chimney flue trees HVAC 11 10-16-2009 09:23 AM
An unasked question is the only dumb question jackie treehorn Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 09-20-2009 08:24 PM
A question about water preassure. reasonforseason Plumbing 5 04-14-2009 04:36 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.