Flexible Duct In Attic - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2009, 05:58 PM   #1
A.FC
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Flexible Duct in Attic


I'm curious if anyone out there knows anything about flexible air ducts for heating and cooling? I currently have uninsulated ducts running through my attic and looking to replace it. Is there a type of flexible duct preferred? Once installed is it hard to maintain? Are there any condensation concerns with the insulated type?

Any ideas?

- First Time Homebuyer.

Advertisement


Last edited by Arsenal; 11-16-2009 at 06:11 PM. Reason: Spelling
Arsenal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 08:45 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,410
Rewards Points: 4,472
Default

Flexible Duct in Attic


If you have A/C ducts in your attic. They are insulated. Or you would have condensate on your ceiling.

Any approved flex duct is fine. Installed properly, there is no maintainence to do to them.

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 09:48 PM   #3
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,040
Default

Flexible Duct in Attic


"Arsenal", what makes you think you're ductwork is not insulated? David
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 09:55 PM   #4
A.FC
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Flexible Duct in Attic


"beenthere" thanks! The prior owners looked like they may have only changed the furnace filter once a year. The filter was black when i changed it my first month. It was so bad that the HVAC guy had to clean the motor and blower housing. Can the flexible ducts be cleaned?
Arsenal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 10:16 PM   #5
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,544
Rewards Points: 2,068
Default

Flexible Duct in Attic


Quote:
Originally Posted by Arsenal View Post
Are there any condensation concerns with the insulated type?....
There are condensation concerns with the NON-insulated type.

On a recent TOH the homeowner complained that during the winter his upstairs bathroom fan vent would drip water, even before anyone used the shower.

Tommy solved his problem by replacing the non-insulated 4" flexible fan duct with flexible insulated duct
.

.
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 10:36 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,410
Rewards Points: 4,472
Default

Flexible Duct in Attic


Flex can't be cleaned without risking damaging it.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 05:54 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Flexible Duct in Attic


Keep changing the filter every chance you get eventually it should be cleaner than before.

Some people never change the filter or even know there's a
filter in there.

Recomendation: R-8 flexible duct if you are changing out the existing.

Last edited by SULTINI; 11-18-2009 at 05:56 PM. Reason: Added last sentence
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 06:16 PM   #8
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,038
Rewards Points: 714
Default

Flexible Duct in Attic


If it ain't broke don't be fixin it or touchin it some people think.

Advertisement

yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AC Flex Duct - Suspend above attic insulation or lay it on top? fritzycat1 HVAC 13 08-17-2011 11:19 PM
Furnace install in attic - Duct configuration hartkem HVAC 6 11-08-2008 06:46 PM
Install HRV duct in attic? dalyman0 HVAC 1 10-21-2008 08:47 PM
flexible duct bingo HVAC 1 09-13-2007 10:54 PM
New flexible air duct co20070904 HVAC 3 09-05-2007 10:32 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts