Flex Duct - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2013, 10:16 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Flex Duct


Well There is another return plenum the same size coming from the dining room(the other end of the house.) Will that help? And every room has a small return in it as well.

Advertisement

Mijotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 10:19 PM   #17
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,422
Rewards Points: 4,490
Default

Flex Duct


You may or may not have enough return already. Does your air filter bow in.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 10:26 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Flex Duct


How would I check that? Sorry bit of a noob here and thank you in advance.
Mijotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 10:32 PM   #19
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,422
Rewards Points: 4,490
Default

Flex Duct


Look at the filter and see if its bowed in toward the blower. Its probably in the furnace near the blower.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 10:37 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Flex Duct


ok give me a minute.
Mijotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 10:47 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Flex Duct


yes it was bowed.
Mijotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 01:38 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Flex Duct


The fabric in the middle was definately bowed and the outlining of the filter was slightly.
Mijotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 03:42 PM   #23
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,422
Rewards Points: 4,490
Default

Flex Duct


Now you just need to determine if its because of low air flow or not changing it often enough.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 03:52 PM   #24
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,422
Rewards Points: 4,490
Default

Flex Duct


No need to line duct board as the fiberglass helps to absorb sound.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 03:54 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Flex Duct


well it's VERY thin Thermopan:
http://www.thermopan.com/thermopan.htm

Would that call a duct liner?
Mijotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 04:05 PM   #26
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,422
Rewards Points: 4,490
Default

Flex Duct


Thats not duct board. Basically its not line-able. No ability to pin the liner. 3M spray glue may work.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 04:10 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Flex Duct


ugh oh man. So i'm looking for something like this?:
http://www.specjm.com/products/ductb...icroairelp.asp
Mijotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 04:18 PM   #28
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,422
Rewards Points: 4,490
Default

Flex Duct


can use their regular duct board.

http://www.specjm.com/residential/ai.../ductboard.asp

All duct board has sound attenuating properties.

How bad was the sound transfer through those returns.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 04:23 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Flex Duct


It was pretty bad with the old sheet metal. Resonance was high and would travel up through the vent in the floor above with ease. Could the JM duct board be installed in between the ceiling joists or should it be stapled to the bottoms of them?

Are you referring to just the flat pieces and not the box shaped ones?
Mijotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 04:29 PM   #30
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,422
Rewards Points: 4,490
Default

Flex Duct


Flat stock.
Yes, it can be installed so that it is flush with the bottom of the joist.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air , flexduct , furnace , plenum , return


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using flex duct for return. lakeresident HVAC 3 11-14-2011 10:56 AM
Planning on New duct work..any feedback... kilosos2 HVAC 28 01-26-2011 10:21 AM
Jenn-Aire Downdraft - OEM flex duct required? Dwizzo Appliances 0 10-09-2010 05:35 PM
Metal duct or flex? smokey982 HVAC 6 08-06-2010 07:20 AM
Flex Duct Advice ssporty21228 HVAC 4 07-23-2008 09:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts