Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-20-2009, 12:13 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 36
Share |
Default

flame sensor location


I have a lennox g 26. the instructions i received from this site (and thank you) were that the flame sensor would be located "If you look underneath the burners, you'll see 2 screws attaching the burners to angles on the box wall. Remove those 2 screws, then carefully slide out burner assembly. The flame sensor is on the top left." I took mine apart and there is nothing on that left side under the burner. I have a yellow wire running from the control to a what i beleive is the flame sensor right beside the intermittent pilot, That make sense to anyone??

trump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 12:22 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,256
Default

flame sensor location


what is the complete model # of that unit. There are several variations of it. Post some pics of the burner box area and the the unit with both doors off.

yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 12:24 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

flame sensor location


Should be 2 wires on the intermittent pilot model. One yellow or orange goes to the ignitor on the pilot hood and the other is a white cloth covered wire that goes to the flame sensor.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 12:25 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 36
Default

flame sensor location


it is a lennox g26 Q 3/4- 125-1 will post pics in a bit when i figure out how thanks
trump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 12:29 PM   #5
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,256
Default

flame sensor location


That unit has the flame sensor built into a pilot burner. It is VERY fragile, porcelain deteriorates and I always replace the complete pilot burner and flame sensor as one unit. 99% of the time the porcelain crumbles and I am a Pro so you are warned. The later G26's have a regular flame sensor which can be cleaned. Best to get a Lennox tech to replace it or leave it ALONE until it and the board malfunction. 50% of the equation is the pilot burner gets corroded/warped and not cleanable so cleaning the sensor only does half the job.

Last edited by yuri; 12-20-2009 at 12:34 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 12:33 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 36
Default

flame sensor location


thanks i already took it apart and cleaned it was able to get it back together no prob so far. i was just confused about the location of the flame sensor thanks again

trump is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame Setdyi HVAC 38 02-08-2014 12:20 PM
Ruud furnace issue on upgrade board and flame sensor rubberman HVAC 22 01-15-2010 11:34 PM
flame sensor problem junkcollector HVAC 1 12-09-2009 08:19 AM
Gas Fireplace Pilot Flame MicRos HVAC 2 11-01-2009 06:15 AM
Flame blowin' in the wind... testeng HVAC 4 10-28-2007 03:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.