Flame Carry Over - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2009, 02:54 PM   #1
boweb616
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

flame carry over


Hello , trane xe 90 13 years old. Energize system, hear clicks at board area, blower starts and ignitor glows bright. First burner lights then shuts down. Repeat cycle and same thing. I am getting no flame carry over. Checked for exhaust blockage, adjusted pressure on gas valve cleaned furnace burners still does the same thing.

Advertisement

boweb6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 03:28 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 131
Rewards Points: 75
Default

flame carry over


Bad or dirty flame sensor.

Advertisement

kb3ca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 03:57 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 279
Rewards Points: 252
Default

flame carry over


Check for a groove or channel below the front of the burners. Make sure it is free from crud. If the flame can't travel to the far end of the manifold, the flame sensor can't sense it. Flame out.

V
veesubotee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 05:16 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,041
Rewards Points: 720
Default

flame carry over


You adjusted the gas pressure? Did you use a manometer to check it? It may now be under or overfired and dangerous.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 03:16 PM   #5
boweb616
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

flame carry over


I cleaned flame sensor and individual burners, the grove on the wing part. Put back together and worked perfect all night. thank you very much.
boweb6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 09:08 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: West Coast
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

flame carry over


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
You adjusted the gas pressure? Did you use a manometer to check it? It may now be under or overfired and dangerous.
Hi Yuri,

How much flame should should there be out the wings of the burner head (4) in a new Goodman? Deposits are forming on the Hx box between the [Hx tube entrance(s)]

The flue gas is different at 3.2"wc than 3.8"wc.....big difference in the temperature rise.

What are the consequences of under-firing the furnace?

happy 2010

Last edited by okrite; 12-28-2009 at 09:40 PM. Reason: [clarity]
okrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 09:34 PM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,041
Rewards Points: 720
Default

flame carry over


How did you get those readings? with a professional or home made manometer? It should NEVER go over 3.5"WC. Did you install the unit yourself? If not get the installer to check it/set it up properly. Underfiring is NOT good as the smoke/gases can condense in the primary heat exchanger and damage it.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 09:23 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: West Coast
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

flame carry over


A while back I worked for forty year Pro who did a de-rate on a Goodman like mine. He worked on the manifold and adjusted the valves, while I put in some filters and cleaned the ducts. He kept testing the flue gas and the temperature rise.

I did have a problem with mine however. Furnace kept quitting and was trying to restart. I thought I fried the board by running off a generator. It was a coincidence.

Fault codes said it is one of the following: pressure switch; blocked flue; blocked drain; weak blower; incorrect pressure switch setting, etc.

Main flue drain fitting was blocked and hoses had crud in them.

Measured the condensate discharge after cleaning. Putting out about ten pounds of water per therm, right?

Had nothing to do with the generator. Furnace had not been serviced for 3 years except for filters and some temp and air tuning.


thanks

Advertisement

okrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ruud furnace issue on upgrade board and flame sensor rubberman HVAC 23 11-05-2014 01:36 PM
York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame Setdyi HVAC 38 02-08-2014 01:20 PM
Gas Fireplace Pilot Flame MicRos HVAC 2 11-01-2009 07:15 AM
Ruud Achiever 90 Plus - no Flame Snesor mmn7957 HVAC 2 10-14-2009 09:49 PM
Miller G5RA furnace flame sensor problem mpit52 HVAC 3 01-16-2009 11:30 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts