First Time Using Programmable Themostat - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2009, 08:44 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: LaFayette GA
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 75
Default

First time using programmable Themostat


My new home has a Venstar programmable thermostat as seen at the link below. I've never used a programmable thermostat, so I don't know what I really need to do to get the most out of it (for energy eff).
Obviously, I know that setting it to adjust temps for different times of the day can make it mor energy eff. But what else can I do with this thermostat to get the most out of it?

http://www.venstar.com/Thermostats/SlimlinePlatinumR/

Thanks,
Chris

Advertisement

__________________
Thanks,

Chris
poolecw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 12:40 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 368
Rewards Points: 250
Default

First time using programmable Themostat


What does it control: heat pump, furnace, humidifier, combination, etc? Temp setback is the main way you save on heating, but how far depends on what you're controlling.

Advertisement

dac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 12:57 PM   #3
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

First time using programmable Themostat


What model do you have? There's a lot of them there.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 02:14 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: LaFayette GA
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 75
Default

First time using programmable Themostat


Sorry, the model is the T1900 and its controlling a heat pump. Its a 3 ton Grandaire unit and heating about 2500sqft.
__________________
Thanks,

Chris
poolecw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 02:26 PM   #5
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

First time using programmable Themostat


there's a step by step manual on the site. Just go thru it and see what you can use. If there is some features that you find confusing post them and we'll see how we can help. You have to know what is important to you for us to expand on any sticking point you might have in operation.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 02:27 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 368
Rewards Points: 250
Default

First time using programmable Themostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by poolecw View Post
Sorry, the model is the T1900 and its controlling a heat pump. Its a 3 ton Grandaire unit and heating about 2500sqft.
General consensus is to not set your temp back too far or the aux will kick on when recovering.
dac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 03:10 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: LaFayette GA
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 75
Default

First time using programmable Themostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by dac122 View Post
General consensus is to not set your temp back too far or the aux will kick on when recovering.
Thats the kind of "tribal knowledge" that I'm looking for....do's and don't's kind of info.

The site actually as a simulator for the thermostat. Actually going through the programming isn't hard...the sticking point is what to program into it to make it most efficienct.

Thanks for the replies.
__________________
Thanks,

Chris
poolecw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 03:38 PM   #8
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

First time using programmable Themostat


Generally it is set back on days you won't be in the home and then comes up to temp before you come home from work or what ever.

Respect the sixty five degree set back rule: Do not go lower than sixty five for night set back. The recovery time requires more power to com up to comfort set point than is saved by the set back temp setting.

If your back up heat blower is a variable speed or even if it isn't, you can program the blower via the stat to run on low speed to even out the temp in the home.

Whole bunch'a other stuff too but you will have to read the manual to see what might strike your fancy and be of benefit to you.

Advertisement

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Programmable t-stat for hot water heat? KE2KB HVAC 2 10-22-2008 01:57 PM
Estimated time to Install Underlayment lucknowm Flooring 5 03-06-2008 07:26 PM
First time vinyl siding newbie plus windows justdon Remodeling 9 02-06-2008 07:39 PM
Time for Painting Second Coat Dougit Painting 1 01-27-2008 10:33 PM
Furnace's blower is on all the time but gas burner does not start artgue HVAC 3 01-16-2008 06:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts