Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05-2012, 10:39 AM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Houston, BC
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

First Time Homebuyer- Heil DC80 blowing cold air


I still haven't had a chance to take much of a look at it, been super busy with work and fixing my work rig. Quick update though... last night I noticed it blowing cold air again, so I pressed "Hold Temp" and turned it way up to 90. The pilot valve lit back up, and then ignited again like normal, all while the fan was still running. Sounds like a thermostat problem to me, can anyone confirm?

Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
That one I would get rid of and replace with a Honeywell Focus Pro from HDepot RTH series. The one you have I have replaced a lot of due to age etc. 10 yrs is the average life of any elec stat.
Hmm alright. I kind of thought this one would be a bit older and trouble-prone. Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ben's plumbing View Post
that is a honeywell smart valve system.....that valve had problems where ignitor plugs in at valve.....also small port on inducer motor where hose from pressure switch connects clogs ... ben sr
I'll have to take a look at that connection and the small hose. Will post findings when I find those components Thanks a lot

chwkrx7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 02:00 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Houston, BC
Posts: 6
Default

First Time Homebuyer- Heil DC80 blowing cold air


Problem possibly fixed...

At Yuri's suggestion, I went out and bought a new Honeywell RTH series thermostat. Wiring it was much easier than I anticipated, as my house is only set up for heat (3 wire).

As I was removing the wires from the old stat, the red (Rh) wire, broke off as soon as I touched it. Could a bad connection there be the cause for a fan running but no ignition? I'm hoping so.

Anyways, wired up the new stat and installed it. I turned power back on to the furnace, and the whole system has been working perfectly for the last 16 hours or so.

I'll still take a look at the ignitor plug-in at the smart valve and the small hose that Ben Sr. mentioned.

One more question.. where the ignitor wiring goes into the "box", this should be a very well sealed connection right? I've circled it in red in the picture below. It seems mine isn't sealed very well. If I have to, what should I use to seal the hole the wires pass through?

Thanks again guys,

Dirk

chwkrx7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 02:41 PM   #18
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,999
Default

First Time Homebuyer- Heil DC80 blowing cold air


I would not worry about that hole. It will draw a tiny bit of air IN thru it to feed to burners which is OK anyway. I don't seal them.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 05:04 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Houston, BC
Posts: 6
Default

First Time Homebuyer- Heil DC80 blowing cold air


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
I would not worry about that hole. It will draw a tiny bit of air IN thru it to feed to burners which is OK anyway. I don't seal them.
OK. Thanks again for all your help!
chwkrx7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 07:16 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 1,986
Default

First Time Homebuyer- Heil DC80 blowing cold air


I'm looking at the connection of your exhaust pipe from the burner box; is that well sealed? Hard to tell if there is a gap there or not, I thought it would have been PVC??
bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 07:41 AM   #21
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,999
Default

First Time Homebuyer- Heil DC80 blowing cold air


Actually that is a 4" intake pipe. THat furnace is an oddball/anomaly in our biz as it is the only mid efficiency unit I have seen approved to take outdoor air for combustion. Exhaust pipe attaches to the ventor at the top of the pic. I would seal it to the housing with silver foil tape.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
bob22 (11-07-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heat Pump Not Blowing Cold RB101011 HVAC 18 09-29-2011 10:03 PM
Comfortmaker RPJ II blowing only cold air. lse HVAC 3 09-16-2011 06:14 PM
HEIL/ICP gas/electric self-contained unit -- blowing cold air, won't shut off AboveTheBULL HVAC 3 06-28-2010 06:23 AM
First time homebuyer...the 3rd time! BobDuhBuilder Introductions 1 07-11-2009 10:16 PM
Blowing cold air TODD_70 HVAC 1 11-24-2008 07:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.