Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-03-2012, 02:31 AM   #1

Share |

First Time Homebuyer- Heil DC80 blowing cold air

Hey guys. My wife and I got married this summer and just bought our first house. Temperatures recently started to drop below 32F and the furnace is getting a bit more work. It's a Heil DC80 Nat. Gas unit, and I believe it was installed in 1998. I'm a certified Auto tech so I'm good with my hands and hoping to be at least a slightly useful handyman around the house....

The problem I have is that the furnace sometimes blows cold air. Both times it has happened has been after it was off for a while. We had the heat off Sunday b/c we weren't home, and turned the thermostat back up when we got home, and it blew heat for a while, but then cold air- the digital tstat would read "System On", but only the fan on the furnace was going.

This morning I got up to go to work and found it blowing cold air again (after it had been turned down for the night). We have a programmable thermostat set to 66 day and 61 night. I turned the tstat way down and shut power to the furnace off. Waited two minutes, turned power back on and turned the tstat up. The pilot light lit, after about 30 seconds the main burners? came on, and a minute later the fan started blowing warm air into the house. It lasted about 20 minutes and then it was blowing cold again. When I looked into the sight glass, there was no flame. I turned off power and gas, and pulled the cover with the sight glass in it (10 screws, in my first picture below). I blew it out as best as I could, started the furnace again and went to work. My wife called about 30 minutes later saying it was blowing cold again. I told her to turn the tstat down to current house temperature (61).