Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-06-2009, 01:35 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

First time furnace repair. Any advice?


Issue was resolved


Last edited by klas; 04-21-2009 at 09:05 PM.
klas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 01:51 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 0
Default

First time furnace repair. Any advice?


hi and welcome to the forum. i'd look in the direction of the switch first. cut the power first and check the hoses for debris or water. blow in and out to see if it's working. turn power back on, check for 24v at the switch.

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 02:02 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 0
Default

First time furnace repair. Any advice?


Thanks for your reply!

Board needs replacing either way. You can see damage on the picture.

Can you tell me where can I order replacement pressure switch? The one I have is Tridelta FS6089A-1912. Can I get different brand? Like this one:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Lennox-87H9301-f...QQcmdZViewItem

Last edited by klas; 04-06-2009 at 02:17 PM.
klas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 02:31 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,426
Rewards Points: 82
Default

First time furnace repair. Any advice?


The pressure switch you have is -.50"WC and that Lennox (actually AireFlo one) is -.40 "and the wrong one. I doubt if it is the pressure switch as usually you only get one failed part at a time. Tridelta has gone out of business, Honeywell makes most of them now. Probably have to get it from Trane due to the mounting bracket etc. The yellow part on the board is burnt. I would NEVER buy parts on EBAY as it may be used/faulty. My cost on those boards is at least $150 so you won't get it cheaper and be new. Buyer beware.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 02:39 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Western Kentucky
Posts: 118
Rewards Points: 0
Default

First time furnace repair. Any advice?


Very strange for both the draft inducer pressure switch to go bad and the control board to short out. In the board picture it looks like a disc capacitor but is more than likely a MOV suppressor - did your circuit breaker trip? depending where the surge came from the board may still be good, try clipping the MOV out of the circuit and resetting the breaker. They are only a dollar and if proved can be replaced later.

The control board must see that pressure switch initially open before starting the sequence then closed after the fan starts - this is so you can't trick it with a jumper wire. After seeing the board I doubt its bad.

And as DM said make sure your lines are clear on the switch.
hychesee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 02:52 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 0
Default

First time furnace repair. Any advice?


Thank you for your suggestions!

The control board was "burnt" as you see on the picture for 4 years. It was recommended to get it replaced, but I never bothered with it as everything was working fine until recently.

Repair man did some tests, like blowing into a tube to check if it "clicks" and plugging blower wire directly to a switch to check if the fan is working.

The result: Blower didn't "click", but the fan was working.

So his assumption that the control board gone bad finally along with a pressure switch, but since he wasn't sure I did not want to pay the price only to find later something else has gone bad. So, I will try to replace control board first before I replace pressure switch.

I am bit hesitant to clip something of the board though. I would rather try another board.

Luckily, the weather finally starting to get warmer, so I can go by without furnace for a while.

Last edited by klas; 04-06-2009 at 02:55 PM.
klas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 04:01 PM   #7
as seen on tv
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: pa
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 0
Default

First time furnace repair. Any advice?


Not the way to test pressure switches
qbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 04:03 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,120
Rewards Points: 150
Default

First time furnace repair. Any advice?


Apparently, the tech can't afford a manometer.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 05:44 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 0
Default

First time furnace repair. Any advice?


So my current concerns are... Is Control board simply plug & play? and... I heard someone mentioned that pressure switch might need cleaning. Will it help?
klas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 06:36 PM   #10
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 0
Default

First time furnace repair. Any advice?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hychesee View Post
Very strange for both the draft inducer pressure switch to go bad and the control board to short out. In the board picture it looks like a disc capacitor but is more than likely a MOV suppressor - did your circuit breaker trip? depending where the surge came from the board may still be good, try clipping the MOV out of the circuit and resetting the breaker. They are only a dollar and if proved can be replaced later.

The control board must see that pressure switch initially open before starting the sequence then closed after the fan starts - this is so you can't trick it with a jumper wire. After seeing the board I doubt its bad.

And as DM said make sure your lines are clear on the switch.
You replace any electronics on that board and you will void any homeowners policy you own.

The boards are safety lab certified as a whole component. Any damage occurring to home traceable to furnace would not be covered.

If the boards were meant to be repaired outside lab conditions there would be a market for recycled boards. Most tech have the know how to repair a board but have the good sense not to.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 06:44 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Western Kentucky
Posts: 118
Rewards Points: 0
Default

First time furnace repair. Any advice?


that's hilarious, thanks - grins back at ya
hychesee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 07:49 PM   #12
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 0
Default

First time furnace repair. Any advice?


Is the red light ( bottom rt in the pic) blinking, showing any codes ?

Last edited by kenmac; 04-06-2009 at 09:24 PM.
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 09:11 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 0
Default

First time furnace repair. Any advice?


yes, it's blinking slowly on/off. Where can I see blinking interpretation?

Last edited by klas; 04-06-2009 at 09:25 PM.
klas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 09:25 PM   #14
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 0
Default

First time furnace repair. Any advice?


Probably just indicating power to the unit. Usually count # of blinks & look on the back of the blower door for the code
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 09:36 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 0
Default

First time furnace repair. Any advice?


Normal. No call for heat.

Just a note that there is a manual switch to run just the fan for fresh air intake and if connected directly to switch fan works, but when connected through control board as normal it will not work. Does this suggest that control board is actually faulty?


Last edited by klas; 04-06-2009 at 09:39 PM.
klas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help troubleshooting furnace problem robert_ HVAC 21 02-15-2012 08:04 AM
first time startup on Bryant furnace - furnace calls for heat and will not stop luvheat HVAC 22 02-14-2009 08:56 AM
Oil furnace does not fire up sbhavinm HVAC 5 01-17-2009 07:06 AM
Need New furnace advice. Unregistered HVAC 3 10-23-2006 09:13 PM
Furnace repair Bullwiiklesdad HVAC 3 10-19-2006 01:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.