Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-25-2009, 08:24 AM   #1

Share |

First Question: How to cool this room?

I'm a college student living at home (an apartment) in Long Beach, CA. My room is outward-facing, and for most of the day during the summer/fall months is hit directly by the sun, from which I get no shade from trees or other structures. Combining that with some rather poor insulation, and temperatures can be as high as 110 degrees on the worst days. I'm looking for ways to either prevent the heat from accumulating in the room, or for ways to abate the heat once it's started warming up. I'm a tenant, so anything that involves renovating or otherwise modifying the construction of the room is out of the question.

My father told me about a device called a Swamp Cooler, which apparently cools by introducing moisture to the air to trap heat. I'm not sure about the effectiveness, because Long Beach is adjacent to several resevoirs and the pacific ocean (unless the Santa Ana winds are blowing, the environment is usually pretty moist). Dad says that shouldn't be a problem, because the devices are supposedly used in places like the Louisiana bayou (thus the name "swamp cooler'), but everything I've read online says they don't work in mid-high humidity areas like LA.

The other option that readily comes to mind is an air conditioner, but all of the window-mounted models I've found are meant to be mounted in a vertically-sliding window - mine are laterally-sliding, and rather wide. Cost of electricity and whether our apartments aging wiring system can support another high-draw appliance are also concerns.