Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-19-2012, 06:12 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 31
Share |
Default

Fireplace not starting


Somehow my fireplace is not starting ...looks like it has auto pilot but still it doesn't start when I switch on the fireplace switch Any thoughts about this Please help


Last edited by karsat; 01-19-2012 at 06:31 PM.
karsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 06:43 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 31
Default

Fireplace not starting


btw its heatilator

karsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 07:01 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,936
Default

Fireplace not starting


Has it been started this year?
Is this a new fireplace?
100% sure there's gas in the tank?
Is there pilot flame?
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 07:06 PM   #4
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,489
Default

Fireplace not starting


Most of the time it's a pilot thats dirty and not enveloping the powerpile well enough to power the gas valve....And... All the wire connections on the gas valve and the fireplace switch need to be completely tight for the unit to work.

Last edited by how; 01-19-2012 at 07:36 PM.
how is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 07:08 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,936
Default

Fireplace not starting


What furnace switch? It's a gas fire place?
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 07:26 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 31
Default

Fireplace not starting


Its a gas furnace it hasnt been started this year I dont know about furnace switch I opened hte panel but couldnt find what you are referring about I don't think it needs gas from tank looks like its connected to gas line I suspect its pilot but dont know how to fix it
karsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 07:35 PM   #7
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,489
Default

Fireplace not starting


I was responding to it as a fireplace that the posted heading implied. Ignore my post about the fireplace advise..

Give us the rough age/ brand & model of your furnace.
how is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 07:38 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 31
Default

Fireplace not starting


its 3 year old Heatilator brand....where to look formodel number?
karsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 07:44 PM   #9
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,563
Default

Fireplace not starting


The cause.



Troubleshooting.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n1ki2...eature=related
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 07:55 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 31
Default

Fireplace not starting


Thanks for the video but still Im not able to figure out the solution
karsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 08:14 PM   #11
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,563
Default

Fireplace not starting


That second video should be disregarded. I posted it in haste thinking it was a pro but after actually watching it I realized it was not.

Do you have a standing pilot light that is always lit?
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 08:15 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 31
Default

Fireplace not starting


I don't see any lighting all the time its not like a gas water heating furnace
karsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 08:20 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 31
Default

Fireplace not starting


model CD4842I4
karsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 08:38 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 31
Default

Fireplace not starting


I see the sparks also in the fireplace somehow it still doesnt start
karsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 09:21 PM   #15
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,489
Default

Fireplace not starting


For most fireplaces (that Spark when the pilot is being lit) you need to first turn the control on the gas valve to the "pilot" position. When it's in the pilot position, that same contol should then be depressed while pushing in the igniter button. Try this for a minute and then STOP.

If it's been off for a long time you may first need to purge the air out of the gas line before the pilot will actually light. I can't figure out a way of telling you how to do this that is safe enough for a public forum like this.

how is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need opinions on tearing out old fireplace Dwillems Building & Construction 9 09-06-2011 11:37 AM
Fireplace construction question scottyv81 General DIY Discussions 1 01-29-2011 09:26 AM
Fireplace Smell ...help wanted ! jasonb72 General DIY Discussions 6 08-26-2010 06:02 PM
New project: removal of old fireplace-replace with a new fireplace! MrShadetree0222 Building & Construction 14 10-16-2008 06:12 PM
Possible to build direct-vent fireplace? DIYerself General DIY Discussions 3 12-22-2007 10:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.