Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-08-2013, 09:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Share |
Default

Fireplace Insert


Hi guys, so I'm doing a complete renovation on my new home and its finally time to start working on the fireplace.

Apparently the vent fan in the firebox insert has "never worked" according to the previous owner. I have checked the power line and it has power but I'm guessing the motor is just dead?

How difficult is it to replace the insert? I had someone tell me that it might not be possible since it is not a masonry chimney and would require the chimney to be demolished and rebuilt.
Attached Thumbnails
Fireplace Insert-img_1427.jpg   Fireplace Insert-img_1433.jpg  

CMB00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 07:50 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,243
Default

Fireplace Insert


So, you want to replace the whoe fireplace because the blower does not work? Or is the original plan to replace the fireplace anyway. If the issue is just the blower motor, they can be purchased at almost any heating supply house. Grainger sells them as well. Did one not too long ago and the motor was about $75.00

danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 08:55 AM   #3
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,170
Default

Fireplace Insert


You did not indicate where you live. In my town, and in many locations, installation of a fireplace insert or wood stove requires very careful attention to the chimney. When I put my wood burning insert in, code required that I have a stainless steel insert inside my flue lined brick chimney. If I had not had a brick chimney, I believe my installation would have required double or possibly triple walled stainless steel pipe.

You need to check with your local building inspector, they will tell you the rules. As a note, I do a lot of DIY, but not the stainless chimney, requires you to get on the roof, push the liner through and connect, not something I cared to deal with.
Daniel Holzman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 10:36 AM   #4
Roofmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,530
Default

Fireplace Insert


From the looks of what you have there, I would rip all of that out and start over. It looks like an accident looking for a place to happen. I would never never never have wood frame construction that close to and above a heating appliance. Use metal studs when you re-build.
__________________
" A lot of men build things, and a lot of things fall down "

jagans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 10:37 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Default

Fireplace Insert


Quote:
Originally Posted by danpik View Post
So, you want to replace the whoe fireplace because the blower does not work? Or is the original plan to replace the fireplace anyway. If the issue is just the blower motor, they can be purchased at almost any heating supply house. Grainger sells them as well. Did one not too long ago and the motor was about $75.00
I would like to avoid replacing the entire unit. Are these motors pretty much universal or will i need to find out what model of insert i have?
CMB00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 10:39 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Default

Fireplace Insert


Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Holzman View Post
You did not indicate where you live. In my town, and in many locations, installation of a fireplace insert or wood stove requires very careful attention to the chimney. When I put my wood burning insert in, code required that I have a stainless steel insert inside my flue lined brick chimney. If I had not had a brick chimney, I believe my installation would have required double or possibly triple walled stainless steel pipe.

You need to check with your local building inspector, they will tell you the rules. As a note, I do a lot of DIY, but not the stainless chimney, requires you to get on the roof, push the liner through and connect, not something I cared to deal with.
I live in Northern Virginia, the chimney construction is fine. Just had most of it rebuilt and had it inspected. I just want to find out how to get the blower working again before I do anything else.
CMB00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 12:11 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,246
Default

Fireplace Insert


Going to have to pull the motor out to read the tag on it.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 11:05 AM   #8
Special User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Idaho, US
Posts: 551
Default

Fireplace Insert


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Going to have to pull the motor out to read the tag on it.
While you're at it, check the model number of the fireplace insert itself to make sure it's a "zero clearance" to combustibles model. The wood framing still worries me...
__________________
The above post is for entertainment purposes only. Its contents may, and probably will, lead to legal liability and damage or loss of property, life, or limb. Use at your own risk.
tylernt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 01:18 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Default

Fireplace Insert


How do you get to the motor? Is it on the top, bottom?

Is it possible to just remove the insert and build a brick firebox?
CMB00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 10:27 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Default

Fireplace Insert


Nevermind, i found out the issue with the blower was a faulty wall switch. Very very good news! Thank you all for your help!

CMB00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fireplace insert vs heatilator marriedmanw Concrete, Stone & Masonry 7 10-22-2012 11:36 PM
insulating around a fireplace insert hellonoko Insulation 1 03-05-2012 07:49 AM
Fireplace Insert Chimney Liner installation eric859 HVAC 11 03-04-2011 03:58 PM
Installing a fireplace insert in older home. Fixitgeorge Remodeling 4 02-02-2011 10:09 AM
Cold Air Coming In From Bottom/Underneath of Gas Fireplace Insert mark2741 HVAC 7 12-10-2010 09:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.