Filtrete 3M-50 Reconnect To Router - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2012, 05:20 PM   #1
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 43

Filtrete 3M-50 Reconnect to Router

I have a Filtrete 3m-50 Wifi thermostat that works well, usually. But it is in a vacation home 4 hours away which often has brief power failures,
some lasting only seconds, some a few minutes. The thermostat, of course, goes off-line when the power fails. When the power is back on, it is supposed to reconnect to the router. It does not connect right away.
Instead, it takes a day or two before I can see remotely that the 3M-50 is back on-line. I am wondering whether there is anything I can do from
my home to get it to connect immediately. Failing that, when I get back on the site, is there anything I can do in person to solve this problem?


Jazan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 05:55 PM   #2
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652

Let me guess, the Radio Thermostat radio in it. Do yourself a favor and get the (Our Home Spaces was what it used to be known as) radio. I got tired of the frequent disconnects, RTCOA blaming my wifi equipment on their software shortcomings.

I have never looked back after changing to the other radio. It operates on the Wireless-B band, not Wireless-G like the RTCOA junk radio does. Plus with, you can run three different programs if you wish, tie into Axis cameras also if you want to check in on the place while gone.


gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 08:30 PM   #3
chitownken's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Will county, Illinois
Posts: 426
Rewards Points: 510

You can try to connect to your router's console and force a renewal of all the connections. Or as suggested, get a thermostat smart enough to do a renewal after a power outage instead of waiting the normal couple day timeout.
chitownken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 09:13 PM   #4
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652

chitownken, it is not the thermostat that is the problem, it is the RTCOA radio module that is the problem.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote

3m-50 , delayed reconnect , wifi thermostat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
router problem boman47k Networking 4 04-12-2011 06:07 PM
Router Advice diyheroe Carpentry 0 09-24-2010 09:09 AM
Router Table gmhammes Tools 8 06-27-2010 10:32 AM
DeWalt Router - good deal??? Eusibius2 Tools 6 02-08-2010 10:21 AM
Shutoff switch for custom Router Table. mfleming Electrical 14 11-13-2008 12:50 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1