Filling And Purging Hydronic Heaters - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-05-2015, 10:57 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 948

Filling and purging hydronic heaters

I have no experience with hydronic heating and this is the first house I have had this type of heat in. Doing a lot of remodeling this summer and replaced a few of the baseboard heaters while I had things apart. Now need to fill the system back up. The system has one supply and return from the boiler that branches off into zones. So what is the correct way to fill these zones and the system?

Filling and purging hydronic heaters-img_20150805_104737077.jpg

Filling and purging hydronic heaters-img_20150805_104744206.jpg

Filling and purging hydronic heaters-img_20150805_104811007.jpg

Advertisement

ponch37300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2015, 11:15 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 446

as long as you have the system drained down I would install a drain valve just above the shutoff valve right above the circulator/pump on the side of the boiler. with that shutoff valve shut and the new drain valve open you can fill the system through the drain on the bottom of the boiler, push it throughout the system and drain it and the air out the new drain valve. I do this with a pump, but you can do it with a garden hose if you carefully watch the pressure in the system....... if you get too much pressure the relief valve will open and dump water and on old systems the relief valve tends not to seal back down and will leak due to dirt and junk coming out with the water.

google "purging hydronic systems"

Advertisement

old_squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 07:06 AM   #3