Figuring Out AC's Electricity Use - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2008, 11:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Figuring out AC's electricity use


Hi all, I live in a high rise apartment with a wall convector (http://www.inspect-ny.com/aircond/aircond05.htm) and I'm trying to figure out how much electricity it uses. Is there some sort of meter I could attach to it to find out about how many watt-hours it uses? Thanks!

Advertisement

iamserious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 06:06 AM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Figuring out AC's electricity use


Kill A Watt™ http://www.amazon.com/P3-Internation.../dp/B00009MDBU

Watt's up http://www.powerwerx.com/product.asp?ProdID=3809

for starters. this help?

DM

Advertisement

DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 12:00 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Figuring out AC's electricity use


Thanks! I thought those might be helpful, but one of the units doesn't have a visible plug, and the other one has a cord that goes into an electrical socket. Problem is, it doesn't actually plug into the socket; the cord goes under the panel from the side. I'll have to see if there's a way to get in, but I suspect I'd have to splice in somehow. I'm not sure that's possible...we'll see.
iamserious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 11:42 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Figuring out AC's electricity use


OK, here's another question. Is there some sort of a permanent meter I can install or have installed on the air conditioner, so I can see numbers from day to day?
iamserious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 05:46 AM   #5
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Figuring out AC's electricity use


those are just two samples. they make what you describe, but i can't remember the brand name of it. google the heck out of it, it'll pop up....

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 07:56 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,477
Rewards Points: 4,600
Default

Figuring out AC's electricity use


http://www.powermeterstore.com/p3863/shark_100.php

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
General ? about electricity dc4nomore Electrical 5 10-13-2008 12:50 AM
Electricity to barn Sherdogmma2010 Electrical 12 09-05-2008 07:29 PM
Electricity use 60 inch LCD vs 35 inch CRT? Changeling Home Theater 5 06-22-2008 10:10 AM
Old A/C use more electricity than old A/C? clue89 Electrical 4 03-02-2007 05:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts