Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-08-2011, 07:25 PM   #1
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,623
Share |
Default

Fieldpiece or Subco?


Digital psyhcrometer? I can get the FP for $126 (discounted price for the working hvac man, $166 normal) and the Subco for $177.

Any of you had either? Experiences?

I know the FP does target sh, wet and dry bulb and rh. Not sure what all the Subco does, I haven't actually seen it up close and personal like I did the FP today, but I'm pretty certain it does the same.

Buying one tomorrow.

Thanks.

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 07:31 PM   #2
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Fieldpiece or Subco?


I received Fieldpiece SRH2 today.

2 K-type thermocouple

Measures RH%, Dew point, Wet bulb, Dry point.

Also TSH - Target Superheat
TEET - Traget Evaporator Exit Temp.

__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JJboy For This Useful Post:
Doc Holliday (08-08-2011)
Old 08-08-2011, 07:37 PM   #3
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,623
Default

Fieldpiece or Subco?


That's the same one. I recall seeing that "TEET" word on the cover but didn't know what it meant so thanks.

Have you used it yet, can you measure it's accuracy?
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 07:46 PM   #4
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Fieldpiece or Subco?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
That's the same one. I recall seeing that "TEET" word on the cover but didn't know what it meant so thanks.

Have you used it yet, can you measure it's accuracy?
Not yet. Let me compare with Extech RH350


I think TEET is delta T

"The TEET ( also known as Target temp Split) calculation allows you to determine if you have airflow problems in your evaporator coil."
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JJboy For This Useful Post:
Doc Holliday (08-08-2011)
Old 08-08-2011, 08:51 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Default

Fieldpiece or Subco?


The old fashioned way is a wet shoestring. Insert the k probe into the shoestring and wave it around for a few seconds, like a sling psychrometer. All it costs is $6.
Yes im a cheap bastard.
Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 04:56 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,791
Default

Fieldpiece or Subco?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Master of Cold View Post
The old fashioned way is a wet shoestring. Insert the k probe into the shoestring and wave it around for a few seconds, like a sling psychrometer. All it costs is $6.
Yes im a cheap bastard.

Digital i a bit better, since you can get a more accurate measurement of the wetbulb temp in the return right at the unit.

The wet shoestring method, in order to be accurate, needs to be moved around at roughly 1000FPM. Thats a bit hard to do.


I'v e done it a few times, when my batteries were dead or too weak in my digital, and I didn't have my sling with me.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 11:16 PM   #7
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,623
Default

Fieldpiece or Subco?


Got it.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 12:15 AM   #8
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,623
Default

Fieldpiece or Subco?


Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 01:54 AM   #9
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Fieldpiece or Subco?


Good stuff
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JJboy For This Useful Post:
Doc Holliday (08-10-2011)
Old 08-10-2011, 12:54 PM   #10
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Fieldpiece or Subco?


Doc, have you tested TSH with TC and TSH with NTC?


Target SH values ​​are very different in these two methods.
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 04:55 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Default

Fieldpiece or Subco?


You know, beer can cold is a lot easier...
Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 05:22 PM   #12
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Fieldpiece or Subco?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Master of Cold View Post
You know, beer can cold is a lot easier...

I am not getting the same result for Target Superheat (TSH) when I'm using the method using thermocouple K-type ATWB1 - ATA1 and with NTC caged sensors. The results are almost twice each other.
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 05:36 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Fieldpiece or Subco?


Are you waiting for the wet bulb thermocouple to hit it's lowest point JJ?
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 05:37 PM   #14
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,264
Default

Fieldpiece or Subco?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Master of Cold View Post
You know, beer can cold is a lot easier...

I agree. That way we don't have to call the NTC or ABC or FBI or whoever
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 05:48 PM   #15
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Fieldpiece or Subco?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty S. View Post
Are you waiting for the wet bulb thermocouple to hit it's lowest point JJ?

No, I wonder why the two target superheat are different when using different sensors

__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fieldpiece H36 purchase wetbar HVAC 3 07-20-2010 07:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.