FHP Unit May Have Bad Pressure Switch - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-26-2016, 11:44 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SoBe,FL
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 6
Default

FHP unit may have bad pressure switch


re: Help - finding parts for older FHP unit

Recently our buildings well pump was shut down for servicing and we failed to promptly turn our unit off. Came inside and unit was still going strong so I shut it down in the knick of time w no problems.

Then my a/c bud said I should change the hi-pressure switch, (maybe stuck closed), for me to order it and he'll replace free of charge, (just gotta take him fishing).

Question: For my FHP unit, (FL Heat Pump), where is a good source for a replacement made by Bosch, part #8733-908-068? (Oem= fhp# 640-004). Thanks in advance, any & all positive suggestions will be appreciated!

(above repl-part# provided by Fhp/ open-close = 380/300)
Attached Thumbnails
FHP unit may have bad pressure switch-fhp-switch1.jpg   FHP unit may have bad pressure switch-fhp-2.jpg  

Advertisement

mrsnapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2016, 12:32 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,947
Rewards Points: 3,892
Default

Re: FHP unit may have bad pressure switch


Is the switch actually faulty? I'd want to know before I ordered anything.

Advertisement

roughneck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2016, 01:26 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SoBe,FL
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Re: FHP unit may have bad pressure switch


I'm 90% certain that it is since the unit kept running while the pump was down,
and since I'll have a "free" installation, just have to buy the parts, I think it's
worth the risk. Besides, the unit has to be about 15+ yrs old.
What is it, about a $25-$35 part?

Also, I had a tech here once said that someone had disconnected/bypassed it.
He wired it back in.

So just playing it safe, trying to keep from having to replace entire unit.
mrsnapper is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 08-26-2016, 01:34 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,947
Rewards Points: 3,892
Default

Re: FHP unit may have bad pressure switch


Might want to have the unit checked out, as running with no heat transfer medium can cause major damage.
That part is available off of most any supply house shelf.
roughneck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2016, 03:17 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SoBe,FL
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Re: FHP unit may have bad pressure switch


this has been the challenge! its an older unit and I don't want to throw a cheap replacement in there. My buddy is way to busy for this. I wrongly assumed this wd go with a lot less resistance as I think we're talking about a $35 part. I was looking to stick with the oem Bosch part - but the mfr stated they only have 2 distributors locally.
can you recommend a good online parts source?

Last edited by mrsnapper; 08-26-2016 at 03:22 PM. Reason: typo
mrsnapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2016, 09:44 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,933
Rewards Points: 46
Default

Re: FHP unit may have bad pressure switch


High pressure switch, 1/4" flare. (i like manual reset)
http://r.ebay.com/AJAXAV

With a swivel tee.
http://r.ebay.com/ylqwFs

Cheers!
supers05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2016, 09:49 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,512
Rewards Points: 1,832
Default

Re: FHP unit may have bad pressure switch


First thing I'd do is hook gauges up to the unit, make sure it has enough charge and then get the pressure once the high and low side stabilize.

Advertisement

Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trane XR90 Induction fan issue & Pressure Switch VARider HVAC 8 02-28-2015 08:26 AM
Pressure switch stuck open? 2 areas im looking @ 1001miles HVAC 42 12-03-2012 03:51 AM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 01:24 AM
Pressure Switch, Draft Inducer, Burner Box, Problem majorapus HVAC 7 10-25-2009 06:14 PM
Pressure Switch Problem? American Standard Pack Unit jaymel HVAC 4 10-20-2008 05:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1