Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-19-2010, 09:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

fast ts21 thermostat help


hey guys
im replacing an old honeywell mercury thermostat with a Fast ts21 touch screen. i have a gas/hot water radiator heat throughout the house. the thermostat i am replacing is on zone two (the upstairs of my house). there are only two wire coming out of the wall one red and one white. my problem is when i connect them like the diagram says the termostat clicks on then continues clicking until it shuts off. im not sure what to do here so i need some help.

i am connecting the red to rh and the white to w2.

New TS21 thermostat
Terminals
I2
I1
RC
DH
H
C
Y2
RH
OBW
W2
G
Y1
============================
here's a link to the TS21 manual:
http://www.diversitech.com/literatur...hermostats.pdf

thanks!!!

sqlackie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 09:47 PM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

fast ts21 thermostat help


Need to have a common for this t.stat


According to the instructions,,,, see troubleshooting section ...Needs c wire connected


Last edited by kenmac; 11-19-2010 at 10:09 PM.
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 04:55 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,542
Default

fast ts21 thermostat help


Yep. Need a common, which you don't have.

Take it back and get a battery operated thermostat, if you want to have set back ability.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 06:50 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Default

fast ts21 thermostat help


thanks guys!

now what does the common wire do ?
and how does the battery operated tstat differ in not needing a common wire?

also in the instructions it lists a way to bypass it if you dont have a common by connecting the resistor between c and w or c and y1 but they dont work either. was just gonna pester by uncle with all this because he does hvac commercially but hes been working like 16hr days...thanks for all the info guys!
sqlackie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 03:40 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,542
Default

fast ts21 thermostat help


The common allows it to use the 24 volts from the system transformer to power it. To operate the light, clock, relays, etc.

The bleed resistor it mentions. Lets it work on millivolts. By power stealing. Which means it bleeds voltage through the W, or Y1 terminal. BUT. Many units, have a control board that isn't well suited for this. And will do strange things.

A battery operated one. Just uses the battery power to operate the thermostats internal relays, and light, clock, etc.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 12:56 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Default

fast ts21 thermostat help


ok cool
thanks for the help!
sqlackie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 01:24 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Default

fast ts21 thermostat help


i think i may have found a solution!
by connecting a 9v battery to +side common and the - to the w2 the thermostat operates correctly. it has been on for a few hrs and is operating normal. now the only thing is how long with the battery last i wonder.
sqlackie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 01:36 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,542
Default

fast ts21 thermostat help


And will it burn out the thermostats board from too high of a voltage.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 05:02 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Default

fast ts21 thermostat help


ok i disconnected the battery, pulled the thermostat off the wall and ran a common down to the heater. at my zone 2 i have a taco valve. on the valve there are three screws. i believe the top is power. the middle is the common and three third down is the end switch. i wired it to the middle and the thermostat works fine. only question is if i stand close to the t-stat and put my ear near it i can hear a very low humming noise comming from it. it that normal for a t-stat to do that?

thanks again for all your help its been greatly appreciated
sqlackie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 05:11 PM   #10
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

fast ts21 thermostat help


never heard a t.stat hum b-4. Maybe feed back from pump
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 05:19 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Default

fast ts21 thermostat help


But that wouldn't damage anything right?
sqlackie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 05:45 PM   #12
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

fast ts21 thermostat help


don't know.. may want to run it to the transformer common
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 06:00 PM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,542
Default

fast ts21 thermostat help


Taco zones valves draw a lot of power. Might be more draw then that thermostat can handle.

Look in its instructions. And see how much amperage draw it can handle.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
connecting a 4 wire SP thermostat to a 2 wire system wiichkin Electrical 4 08-15-2010 01:35 PM
Carrier Edge Thermostat Installation Issue ptalar HVAC 1 07-13-2010 05:40 PM
Honeywell Prestige HD thermostat wiring 1H/1C + Humidification System TekGamer HVAC 0 07-09-2010 11:58 PM
Thermostat clock runs fast yankeeNH HVAC 2 07-07-2010 05:00 PM
Problem with Lennox Pulse Furnace Wiring to Thermostat scalvin Electrical 4 12-30-2009 07:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.