Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-26-2009, 05:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

fan wont work


i have a lennox elite series oil furnece about 6 or7 yrs old and the fan will only work on the on setting and not on the auto setting lookin for some help

tutuffcustoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 05:12 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

fan wont work


Check for 24 volts between G and common, or continuity between R and G on your tstat when it calls for fan. If no go, then you need to replace the tstat. Also, it may have a tstat in the heat exchager which locks out the fan until it reaches a certain temperature. This may be bad or need adjustment.

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 03:19 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Default

fan wont work


thanks i put a new tsat on and and still no go i cleaned the limit too if i unplug the limit it kills the system so it must b good right or not? its got a mother board on it with relys on it could it b one of them.
tutuffcustoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 04:01 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Default

fan wont work


thanks i put a new tsat on and and still no go i cleaned the limit too if i unplug the limit it kills the system so it must b good right or not? its got a mother board on it with relys on it could it b one of them.
tutuffcustoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 04:42 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

fan wont work


I'd post this over in HVAC, I'm sure there;s some oil burner experts over there. Sounds to me like a bad fan relay but they would be able to help you more.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 04:50 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,267
Default

fan wont work


I just merged your threads together. PLEASE only post about an issue one time. Thanks.
__________________
Nathan

"He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain that which he cannot lose." - Jim Elliot
Nathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 06:08 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,489
Default

fan wont work


Oil furnaces don't receive 24 volts from the stat to run the fan.

Not sure on the Elite if they use a delay timer, or a fan limit switch.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 06:16 PM   #8
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,992
Default

fan wont work


Post the model and serial# and I will look up the tech info on Davenet for you.

yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can a homeowner perform electrical work in MA? dpd512 Electrical 77 04-11-2012 06:48 AM
Does your job require a permit? housedocs General DIY Discussions 203 12-01-2010 07:28 AM
Is it right that an owner must be licensed to perform work joey b Electrical 45 12-16-2008 10:16 AM
duct work framing kama Carpentry 4 11-15-2008 12:40 PM
Properly Sealing HVAC Duct Work craymer45 HVAC 5 11-06-2008 08:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.