Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-24-2012, 10:16 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

"Fan on" setting does not work


Hi All,

Id like to be able to have my furnace fan constantly on--or at least have the option to do that--but when I set the thermostat fan switch from "Auto" to "On,", the fan does not come on. Otherwise the thermostat and furnace function well.

I removed the access panel to look at the furnace (Nordyne KG7SC) and control board (Nordyne 624690-0), and see that there is a jumper setting labeled "Fan" and "P4" next to the Heat and Cool fan settings. Might this have something to do with the inability to get the fan to remain on? It looks like there are four or five jumper pins, and the bottom two are bridged.

Here's a picture:



thanks in advance for any advice,
David

genespleen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 10:34 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 328
Default

"Fan on" setting does not work


The green wire on the terminal strip "G" is what is suposed to send the signal to energize your fan with the manual on switch on the thermostat.

You could check and make sure that the green wire is tied onto G on your thermostat, or turn the manual fan switch on and then look for 24 volts between G and C on your furnace terminals. If no 24 volts there, then you may have a broken wire, bad connection etc. (be sure door switch on furnace is closed while testing or you won"t have any power)

HVACDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 01:34 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Default

"Fan on" setting does not work


Thanks for the suggestion; I'll try to test the voltage later today. Any ideas what the jumper pins I referred to might control?

Here's a better image of the jumper pins I mean (this is a photo from the internet, not from my own furnace, tho' it looks to be an identical board):



I mean the pins under the "FAN" label--what do they control?

Last edited by genespleen; 05-24-2012 at 05:00 PM.
genespleen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 09:34 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 328
Default

"Fan on" setting does not work


Could be a continuous fan speed adjustment, or a blower delay of some sort. I see a blower off delay on the other side of the board. Can't seem to locate much info on line for your model.
HVACDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duct work design HalfHand HVAC 10 05-10-2012 11:48 PM
Odd Thermostat "Fan On" issue TJ_in_IL HVAC 9 03-30-2010 09:05 PM
Freezer not cold enough at "normal" setting... skipjack Appliances 2 02-01-2010 03:10 PM
is this bad tiling work? garrick Flooring 17 09-27-2006 12:30 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.