Fan Limit Switch Help - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2009, 08:10 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 228
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Fan limit switch help


Hi,

The blower fan on my furnace runs non-stop. After doing some internet troubleshooting, I'm guessing it's running non-stop due to the fan limit switch. I'm missing the outer cover as well as the little push/pull knob thing that takes it from manual to auto operation. Does anyone know if I can purchase just the knob piece or do I need to buy the whole thing together? The only parts I see online are the entire assembly.

Is there any way to "rig" the manual/auto switch? I did some poking around (with power off) and couldn't find any way to manually set the switch.
Attached Thumbnails
Fan limit switch help-006.jpg  

Advertisement

__________________
Some advice you receive on the internet can be worth exactly what you paid for it - be careful.
stubborn1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 08:30 PM   #2
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 594
Rewards Points: 514
Default

Fan limit switch help


That is your low speed fan control, can you hear the fan speed up when you set the thermostat to FAN On ?

I can only see one pin, the other two are behind that violet wire.
The first pin is fan off, the second pin is fan on, the third (highest) pin turns off the gas (usually due to low airflow)

What are your 3 setpoints?

Advertisement

Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 09:17 PM   #3
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Fan limit switch help


Low speed fan control ????? How so wrong

That is a fan/limit with heater

Since the fan runs all the time a couple things to check.

Thermostat - make sure fan setting is on auto and not on
If the stat is on auto take something nonconductive and lightly tap on the fan/limit. Sometimes the dial will get stuck because it binds from lent, dust and the control that turns the dial becomes too weak.


They are simple to replace but you will need to remove and measure the length of the shaft that stick into the heat chamber area.

Here's a troubleshooting link

http://www.inspect-ny.com/heat/Fan_L..._Procedure.htm
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer

Last edited by Plumber101; 10-28-2009 at 09:19 PM.
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 09:52 PM   #4
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 594
Rewards Points: 514
Default

Fan limit switch help


The fan limit typically energizes a lower speed than your G terminal on these older furnaces. A simple test would be to turn the stat to the Fan On position. I stand by my statement.

The dpdt fan relay could also cause this, or shorted G wire. I recommend checking this before replacing that fan limit.

Last edited by Houston204; 10-28-2009 at 09:59 PM.
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 10:05 PM   #5
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Fan limit switch help


That would be a true statement if we knew what blower speed tap was used for heating. Yes I will agree that sometimes the speed of the fan controlled by the stat is different that the speed of the fan that is used for heating. So if the two speeds were the same what does turning the stat blower switch to on do?

I will also add that this device is not called a low speed fan control.

And this person is trying to get the fan to stop running.
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 10:10 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 228
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Fan limit switch help


Regarding the fan on/auto setting on the stat, it's set to auto. My stat is only a two wire stat, so I don't have a wire to the G terminal - only the R and W terminals.

I watched the operation of the fan limit and it still rotates as it heats up and rotates when it cools down, so I don't think it's stuck. The movement does "jump" a bit, so it may need cleaning and/or replacement.

I have fan off set at 80, fan on at 120, and the high limit is fixed around 200 I think.
__________________
Some advice you receive on the internet can be worth exactly what you paid for it - be careful.
stubborn1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 10:13 PM   #7
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Fan limit switch help


Try what I stated before about tapping the limit.

Shut the furnace down and wait for it to cool and as the dial reaches the 80 mark tap on it

Seen this many times

Also move the 80 to 90 or 95
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer

Last edited by Plumber101; 10-28-2009 at 10:16 PM.
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 10:14 PM   #8
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 594
Rewards Points: 514
Default

Fan limit switch help


Since fan limit was in the initial title, I didn't see the need for naming it, only identifing that it controls a lower speed.

Good point about the possibilty that cooling and heating are operating the same speed. It is a very simple procedure to check this though.
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 10:20 PM   #9
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Fan limit switch help


so true

Advertisement

__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modification to an existing pump switch DRBLKJK Electrical 10 08-23-2009 04:06 PM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 08:11 AM
Lennox Limit Switch / Watchguard Issue shaneali HVAC 4 02-13-2009 07:16 AM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 07:14 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 02:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts