Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-04-2010, 12:21 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

Fan Capacitor


We have two AC systems in the house, one was just replaced recently. The new one came with a deal where both systems are checked every 6 months. The tech was checking our older Goodman and said the capacitor was rating too low on his meter (I think he said 4 out of 5 rating according to his meter (I wasn't there so i couldn't get much more info than that) and that if not replaced soon it might burn something out. He had pointed out what needed to be replaced and said it would cost $100 but I could probably do it myself. My only real question is that is there anything I should watch out for when installing a replacement and what is a good place to buy it from that is reputable?

Thanks

Pics of the capacitor in question



RoGuE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 02:46 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,725
Default

Fan Capacitor


Grainger or you can search for an online store that sells them.
Thats a standard 5X379 cap

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 04:17 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Fan Capacitor


I'm not sure which one of those on the Granger site I need, they all seem to be non GE caps. Is the GE the best solution, if so, whats a good website to find those?
RoGuE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 04:38 PM   #4
Insert catchy title here
 
AppleMac*Fit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 79
Default

Fan Capacitor


Just give Grainger a call, they'll be able to help you.
1-800-323-0620

But it does look like the functional equivalent is Grainger part# 2WYU9

Although it's 1 micro-Farad higher in rating, it should be fine.
AppleMac*Fit is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AppleMac*Fit For This Useful Post:
RoGuE (03-04-2010)
Old 03-04-2010, 05:10 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Fan Capacitor


Thanks, although that part you linked to seems to 1 micro-Farad lower than the one currently installed.

I'll give Grainger a call. Are there any other well known sites that carry the GE part? I've seen quite a few just typing the GE part number into google, but I can't tell whether or not some of these sites are okay to give my credit card info to, lol.

Also, how are the wires connected to the capacitor, do they clamp in somehow? I'm pretty sure I can tackle this and save the huge labor charge. I've replaced transistors in a blown out amp before if that says anything about my skill level.
RoGuE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 05:36 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,725
Default

Fan Capacitor


Using that capacitor, is like using your current one.

If your going to get a new capacitor, get the right size one.

They're just spade connectors.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 09:43 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Fan Capacitor


How is this? Has anyone used this website before? It's the exact same part number so I know it's compatible.

http://www.alliedelec.com/search/pro...px?SKU=5910098
RoGuE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 02:07 AM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,725
Default

Fan Capacitor


The first capacitor link that was posted, is to a 4 micro farad.
The second link is too a 5 micro farad.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 02:28 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 27
Default

Fan Capacitor


Is there a Johnstone Supply in your area? Take the capacitor there and they will sell to you over the counter....just expect to pay higher prices than wholesale. And make sure you ground the capacitor before messing with it....they store energy...take a screwdriver and touch each post to a ground (with power off to the furnace....touch each spade to the fan housing).
Affordable7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 03:11 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Fan Capacitor


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
The first capacitor link that was posted, is to a 4 micro farad.
The second link is too a 5 micro farad.
Wouldn't the 4 microfarad be incompatible? The original one you see in my first post is a 5 microfarad I believe.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Affordable7 View Post
Is there a Johnstone Supply in your area? Take the capacitor there and they will sell to you over the counter....just expect to pay higher prices than wholesale. And make sure you ground the capacitor before messing with it....they store energy...take a screwdriver and touch each post to a ground (with power off to the furnace....touch each spade to the fan housing).
I did a quick search and there are two but they are both about a 40 minute drive away. I'd rather just order it online in that case. It doesnt seem too much on that Allied Electronics site, it was $6 plus $4-7 shipping (depending on carrier) Thanks for the info about grounding the capacitor. I probably would have ended up asking that the day I install it.

Does anyone have experience with Allied Electronics?
RoGuE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 03:23 AM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,725
Default

Fan Capacitor


Quote:
Originally Posted by RoGuE View Post
Wouldn't the 4 microfarad be incompatible? The original one you see in my first post is a 5 microfarad I believe.



Thats why I made post number 6.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 10:09 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Fan Capacitor


I'm about to order this and I want to confirm, is this the correct part? I'm a little apprehensive because the one in the picture doesn't have all the same writing on the sticker that my original one has.

http://www.alliedelec.com/search/pro...px?SKU=5910098

Last edited by RoGuE; 03-17-2010 at 10:16 PM.
RoGuE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 04:34 AM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,725
Default

Fan Capacitor


Thats a standard oval capacitor. No problem.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
RoGuE (03-18-2010)
Old 03-18-2010, 10:16 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Fan Capacitor


Thanks so much. I appreciate your help. Other than any unforeseen problems installing it I can't think of anything else I would need to ask for this. It seems pretty straight forward. Thanks everyone for your help.

RoGuE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Capacitor Replacement on Central Air unit sn2567 HVAC 6 07-21-2012 02:29 PM
Hunter Fan Capacitor BryanLawlor Electrical 2 10-15-2009 07:21 AM
problems with capacitor motor for pump joeypants Electrical 13 10-13-2009 04:18 PM
Buying a Hard Start Capacitor Help D1G1T4L3CH0 HVAC 3 10-17-2008 08:42 PM
Bad Compressor or Bad Capacitor needhelpbad HVAC 2 07-27-2008 03:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.