Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-25-2012, 09:43 AM   #1

Share |

FA4BNF024 HVAC Unit - Blows 5 amp low voltage fuse intermitently

Dear fellow DIY techs,

I have a Bryant FA4BNF024 HVAC handler that blows the 5 amp low voltage fuse intermittently. Last time it blew, was May of last year. Now it has blown again. I replaced the fuse yesterday morning and it took a whole day to blow again. I have a degree in electronics and am home for the next week, so I thought I'd try and tackle this situation. Now, by observing the fuse itself, it is definitely a high current situation...no metal fatigue or slight over-current. The fuse is blown black..wide open. I Google'd the model number and found this handler has been sold under MANY names...thankfully I found the service manual. I placed a fused jumper in place of the fuse and a current probe, then waited to see if I could isolate the problem area. Wouldn't you know it....3 hours and no-blow. I ran the thermostat up to 90 to make the aux heat turn on..still nothing (yes, I have a heat pump..sorry did not say initially). Now, my Totaline touch-screen programable thermostat for the unit has been flakey in the past..goes blank, resets..even blacks out sometimes when removing the bezel. However, I cannot get ti to act up now. My thoughts were maybe the thermostat was blowing the fuse. I checked all wiring outside at compressor unit and at thermostat...no nicks, rubs or bare wiring.

Any guidance as to how to split the circuit, maybe install more fused wiring in each leg until I can determine for a fact what area or component is bad?