Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-13-2012, 07:24 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

External Furnace Filter


I had a new furnace installed that required an external furnace filter. The tech did not have an external filter rack for the unit, so he cut a slot in the return air vent and slid the filter in the slot. It sticks out about 3" and just doesn't seem like the proper way to have a filter installed on a new furnace. Any thoughts... want to be sure this is proper and going to be safe and efficient. Attached are a few pics.Name:  furnace3.jpg
Views: 556
Size:  31.4 KB

Name:  furnace2.jpg
Views: 603
Size:  34.0 KB

Frank_Water is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 10:59 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 336
Rewards Points: 252
Default

External Furnace Filter


Seen many done in a similar fashion and it will work. Doesn't look nice and if your pic showed the way the return ties into the duct at the top we could tell you if you have room to slide the return drop over and add a filter rack on the side of the furnace.

HVACDave is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to HVACDave For This Useful Post:
Frank_Water (11-13-2012)
Old 11-13-2012, 05:58 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lansing,MI
Posts: 172
Rewards Points: 152
Default

External Furnace Filter


Remove filter and look into slot to see if there is a track to support filter around the edges inside the duct,not just a couple long screws in the back.
HVACTECH96 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to HVACTECH96 For This Useful Post:
Frank_Water (11-13-2012)
Old 11-13-2012, 06:16 PM   #4
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

External Furnace Filter


Lame install.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 06:23 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

External Furnace Filter


Have him make a door to cover the thing at least. The angle or location of the filter is not a problem though.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 06:30 PM   #6
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

External Furnace Filter


This is a filter cabinet for a media filter but they make these for your regular thin filter that you have there as well. But your filter is far too big if it's protruding so far.

Lame. Do what Marty suggested at the least.

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 06:47 PM   #7
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

External Furnace Filter


You say "tech", I say "hack". Sure it's done, but a filter shouldn't be an afterthought...it's an integral part of the installation. Are there rubberbands or tape holding it in place?
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 07:44 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

External Furnace Filter


Thanks for validating what I was thinking. I called and asked them to come back out. The humidifier is also not working ... they will have to look into that as well. In my old house, the filter was a big box/compartment that attached between the furnace and return duct. It was like an air cleaner type of system. Should I consider that rather than a typical filter?
Frank_Water is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 08:37 PM   #9
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,500
Rewards Points: 516
Default

External Furnace Filter


This is the kind of filter set up that usually happens when an owner complains that their current furnace filter set up within the furnace is too awkward to access. It's passable as an easier convenience for the owner of a furnace and ducting that has already been installed but is pretty much a hack job for a new furnace instalation where proper filter planning is part of the job.
My bigger complaint about it comes from that section of the return air below it that from the size of it must feed from elsewhere and bypasses the filter.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 08:57 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,453
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

External Furnace Filter


my thougth also how ..it must access another location or it should have been removed for a proper filter boot...ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 09:13 PM   #11
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,500
Rewards Points: 516
Default

External Furnace Filter


Sorry Ben.
These old eyes might be seeing the floor at the bottom right as part of a larger boxed return air.
Might be time for me to switch those generic drug store reading glasses in for something more personal.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 09:19 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,453
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

External Furnace Filter


Quote:
Originally Posted by how View Post
Sorry Ben.
These old eyes might be seeing the floor at the bottom right as part of a larger boxed return air.
Might be time for me to switch those generic drug store reading glasses in for something more personal.
well then we both must get new readers because iam seeing the same thing....but as i look at it yep thats the floor.. iam good ben sr

ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Filter rack question for new furnace install rvmeush HVAC 3 09-14-2012 08:38 PM
Furnace Filter Question turtlegrrl HVAC 8 08-04-2012 07:04 PM
How to change air filter on this Bryant Plus 90 gas furnace? ohman HVAC 17 01-04-2012 05:15 PM
Furnace filter brands to avoid? MistyLee HVAC 7 11-30-2009 09:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.