Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-31-2010, 09:20 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Expanding Foam and Radiators

Hiya,

I'm a newbie, and hopefully not a really stupid one. Let's find out:

In an effort to help out my friend who just moved into a new apartment, I offered to seal the gaps around the pipes for the two-pipe radiators in the flooring. Some of the gaps were gaping 3" holes, others about 1/2". None of them still had the caps intact.

I told her I'd use expanding foam. She ran it by the landlord, who approved.

Now, I used "Great Stuff™", but I had just grabbed the one at the end cap at Home Despot, and didn't know there was a higher rated one available.

I see on the can that it says it can combust at 116ºc. That's 247 Fahrenheit, and I know water boils at 212 Fahrenheit under normal pressure.

The two-pipe systems are water radiators, not steam tho, right? The steam ones have those little bleed nozzles?

I ask, because I've already put in the foam and am now having doubts about whether or not I've endangered my friend.

Can anyone knowledgeable please tell me approximately how stupid I just was? (and if I need to go back there tomorrow and somehow remove the stuff before she turns on the heat?)

limbodog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 04:07 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen

Rewards Points: 20

Expanding Foam and Radiators

2 pipe steam doesn't have the air vents your talking about.

However. Even if it is steam. It would have to be a med pressure system for the steam to be at 247°F. The pressure would have to be at 28 PSIG. Unless the boilers are on the roof. The pressure in the system for your friends building probably isn't set that high.