Exixting Analog Thermostat - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2015, 01:37 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default

exixting analog thermostat


can I replace a regular old thermostat to a digital thermostat for a 3 ton heat pump without much trouble, thanks in advance

Advertisement


Last edited by dawarren; 06-19-2015 at 01:42 PM.
dawarren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 01:49 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,071
Rewards Points: 1,973
Default


I have yet to figure out why anyone would want to ?

The old mercury bulb Honeywell tstats last a LONG time .

God bless
Wyr

Advertisement

WyrTwister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 03:29 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 32,349
Rewards Points: 6,092
Default


Yes you can.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (06-22-2015)
Old 06-19-2015, 04:44 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,071
Rewards Points: 1,973
Default


May help if the common wire is present at the tstat . I think some electronic tstats need it . Some get by w/o it , bu using batteries ( I think ) .

Last thing I need is a WiFi tstat . I think some do this , some probably do not ?

But , have fun .

God bless
Wyr
WyrTwister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 06:23 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,431
Rewards Points: 4,866
Default


Watch out for wire terminal labels - they aren't always consistent.

The digital stats have to be setup for heatpumps.

Electronic will bring the back up heat on sooner without as much as a temperature swing. Just hit hold when the heatpump runs in heating mode, otherwise you'll be using strip heat to recover from setbacks.

Last edited by user_12345a; 06-19-2015 at 06:25 PM.
user_12345a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 06:32 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4,884
Rewards Points: 1,528
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by dawarren View Post
can I replace a regular old thermostat to a digital thermostat for a 3 ton heat pump without much trouble, thanks in advance
Yes you can and hurry. Buy the most expensive Honeywell you can find because i have a little HON stock.
SeniorSitizen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2015, 07:21 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Silver City,NM
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 48
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by dawarren View Post
can I replace a regular old thermostat to a digital thermostat for a 3 ton heat pump without much trouble, thanks in advance
dawarren
ck your PM
Rocky in NM
rockinnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 12:21 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default


thanks to all,,,especially Rocky,,,you rock!
dawarren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 01:37 AM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default


dawarren just follow the installation instructions for the new thermostat. Personally I would stay away from the Nest. Still too many software issues. The 3m-80 with the MyCloudbeam.com radio module would work with your setup. It also gives you outside temps and humidity, which are controlled through the website.

If you go with one of the Honeywell thermostats, remember that the lower end ones for Wifi control, do not work with third party control software.

It all really depends on if you want to control it while away or from say your chair or bedside, or you want a set & forget.

Advertisement

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat issues on old furnace - questions before I replace thermostat. Calab HVAC 11 02-18-2012 08:43 AM
weathertron Mecury Thermostat VickiL HVAC 4 02-06-2011 04:32 PM
Wiring on Hunter Analog Thermostat woomama HVAC 16 03-22-2010 01:52 PM
Analog thermostat to digital thermostat conversion problem godcomplex HVAC 8 01-13-2010 02:50 PM
Upgrade RV analog with Honeywell Thermostat Ray Wallace HVAC 3 08-13-2009 12:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1