Everything Runs, But Pressure Still Equalized? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-30-2009, 09:41 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Everything runs, but pressure still equalized?


Hey everyone ! Here are the facts:

York H1DH Condenser (see attachments for info)
Bristol H25B203 Compressor
Had a GE 30/4 Dual Run capacitor (good), replaced with a 35/5 Dual Run capacitor (as stated in York H4DH parts manual)
Phillips Start capacitor (too old to read label)
R-22
only 17 years old (ok, that just put things into perspective)

Everything runs, the compressor is making a slight rattling noise, but the high and low sides are still equalized (around 110 psi). The 'system' stop working two years ago, and I'm sure it make a loud screech at some point, and sometimes it came on with a 'pop'. The actually sequence of sounds is a little fuzzy now.

Power source voltage good (244v)
No line voltage across C and R
All the continuity checks across the relay, contactor, and compressor terminals pass.
Amp draws during operation:
R - 5.6A
S - 5.8A
C - 1.7A
Fan - 0.5A
Fan motor thermostat - 0.8A
L1 - 2.4A
L2 - 2.4A

Diagnosis?

Is the compressor supposed to be drawing amps from both R and S? Their total, 11.4A equals the RLA.

Thanks everyone!!!
Attached Thumbnails
Everything runs, but pressure still equalized?-condenser-label-compressed.jpg   Everything runs, but pressure still equalized?-condenser-schematic-compressed.jpg  

Advertisement

krosselle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 11:36 AM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Everything runs, but pressure still equalized?


sounds like the compressor just gave up

Advertisement

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 01:19 PM   #3
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Everything runs, but pressure still equalized?


it obviously is not pumping enough of anything to pressurize the system so that means either the comp is not running nearly fast enough to pressurize or the comp is just plain busted and not pumping anything

with the running current so low, I would suggest the pump portion of the comp has broken something and the motor is simply free running.


time for a new comp, or at that age, a new unit altogether.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 03:14 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,424
Rewards Points: 4,494
Default

Everything runs, but pressure still equalized?


Yes, it should draw amperage on the start wining wile running.

Sounds like it lost a vlalve.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 05:36 PM   #5
Tired & Dirty
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: East Central Illinois
Posts: 80
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Everything runs, but pressure still equalized?


yup, prolly a warped valve. Have replaced a few Bristols in the past with this problem.
evapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 06:03 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,058
Rewards Points: 754
Default

Everything runs, but pressure still equalized?


Bristols, Ptui, I despise them. The internal relief valve may have popped open and is stuck open. Give the can a good whack upside the head with a rubber mallet and it may reset. Probably need a new compressor/unit anyway.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 10:22 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Everything runs, but pressure still equalized?


Thanks everyone, I'll go the new condenser unit route. After I whack it with the mallet
krosselle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 10:23 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Everything runs, but pressure still equalized?


Do I whack it while it is running?
krosselle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 04:32 PM   #9
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,058
Rewards Points: 754
Default

Everything runs, but pressure still equalized?


Try it B4 starting it and then later. Less than 5% chance it will work. Would have to be caused by a restriction in the system causing it to pop. Then you have another problem to fix.

Advertisement

yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions about water pressure regulation.. MrSimmonsSr Plumbing 20 11-30-2012 10:43 PM
New Pressure Switch -- low water pressure chach Plumbing 4 01-18-2009 10:50 PM
well pump wont hold pressure jakjkl Plumbing 6 12-20-2008 10:11 AM
fittings and pipes sizes.. effect on pressure? cgerikh Plumbing 3 05-19-2008 11:37 AM
No water pressure in my pressure tank GordH Plumbing 6 05-18-2008 12:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts