Electronic Thermostat Problem? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2010, 08:52 PM   #1
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25

Electronic thermostat problem?

Last year I put a new Olsen hot air furnace in our house. During some trouble shooting, I was told that the newer furnaces (my new one has the LED light on the Beckett burner control) does not like the old style mercury t-stat. Apparently, they don't run quite right with the older t-stat. So, we put a non programmable electronic t-stat on the wall. In the last year approximately three or four times the furnace has quit in the middle of the night. The scenario is that the furnace runs through its cycle, but does not start back up. There's no change in the LED light, I believe that there should be a red light on if there is something wrong- no light at all is on when this happens. Turning the t-stat up or down does nothing. I have learned to turn the power switch off, wait 10-20 seconds, turn the power back on and everything comes back on A.O.K. The green LED comes on and everything works normal again. Someone said that the electronic t-stat's don't work well- or they have alot of problems- any thoughts? Thank you.


DaleB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 08:59 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
yuri's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 14,698
Rewards Points: 38

What type of electronic tstat (brand and cost) did you install. The cheap ones are troublesome and the only ones I recommend are the Honeywell Focus or Vision Pro units from HDepot. Contractors have access to better quality White Rodgers etc but the DIYer can get the Honeywell. I have had elcheapos drop the voltage and damage circuit boards. You get what you pay for.


"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 09:18 PM   #3
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25

I don't remember the cost but the t-stat is a: Braeburn-- model 3000.
DaleB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 11:48 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 32,960
Rewards Points: 7,286

A. Get a Honeywell Focus or Vision Pro stat.
B. Inspect your thermostat wire for splices that may not be tight.
C. If your thermostat wire is real old, run new.
D. Make sure no wire insulation is under any screws.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changed thermostat and have problem ssmcalister HVAC 3 10-29-2008 04:40 PM
Wiring help - Honeywell Thermostat w/ Carrier Heat Pump Tom Williams HVAC 7 09-14-2008 07:40 AM
Oil Furnace - Swapping out to Programmable Thermostat slappy HVAC 2 12-05-2007 03:57 PM
Hunter Thermostat Problem kohlernm HVAC 1 11-22-2007 09:58 PM
2 stage heat thermostat problem W1 AND w2 wires whatdoIdonow HVAC 6 11-26-2006 12:04 AM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1