Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-04-2012, 01:55 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Issue


I have just replaced my old fan motor with a new fan motor. I hooked up all the wires and everything was working fine until the breaker pooped. I then reset the breaker and it pooped immediately. I unplugged everything from the coil and one by one tried to see what tripped the breaker. I came to the conclusion that the lead wire to the compressor was what it was pooping the breaker. But why would this happen? Do i need a new capacitor? i didnt get one with the new motor for the fan.

fc3sbah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 02:31 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: MD
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Electrical Issue


Compressor most likely failed and is shorted to ground. the only other possible is that the spade terminal has burnt off and shorted to ground. check wiring under terminal cover of compressor. If intact and you are tripping the breaker with only the compressor hooked up then its a bad compressor.

turnermech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 06:11 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Issue


ok i will check that then and let you know what happens.
fc3sbah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 08:14 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Electrical Issue


Also: You should ALWAYS replace the capacitor when you install a new fan.

If the compressor wires aren't burnt, then you can confirm the compressor is the trouble by doing this:

1) Remove power from the furnace. Be 100% sure you've done so - check it with a meter.
2) Remove the wires from the compressor terminals. Isolate them so they don't touch ground anywhere.
3) Turn power back on.
4) Turn the system on at the stat

If the breaker does not trip with the compressor out of the circuit, then you've got a bad compressor. Time to call a reputable HVAC company for assistance.

If the breaker does trip, then the compressor is not at fault. You'd need to remove the other components in a similar fashion to determine the short.

Last edited by scottmcd9999; 08-06-2012 at 06:42 AM. Reason: remove "NOT" from last sentence
scottmcd9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to scottmcd9999 For This Useful Post:
Marbledust (08-06-2012)
Old 08-05-2012, 04:24 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 599
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electrical Issue


scottmcd9999?

I think you forgot to take the word "not" out of your last sentence "confusing a confused mind is confusing" techpappy
techpappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 06:42 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Electrical Issue


Quote:
I think you forgot to take the word "not" out of your last sentence
You're right ... thanks for letting me know, I've edited it.
scottmcd9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 01:11 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Issue


OK well i got the capacitor tested today and it was good. So i did what you said and disconnect the compressor wires and turned everything on and the fan spun and the breaker stayed on. So my luck its the compressor. As soon as i plug in the compressor and turn it on it pops.
fc3sbah is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to fc3sbah For This Useful Post:
Marbledust (08-06-2012)
Old 08-06-2012, 01:13 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Electrical Issue


Quote:
As soon as i plug in the compressor and turn it on it pops
Yep - compressor is bad. This isn't something for a DIYer, so you'll have to find a competent HVAC company to take over from here.
scottmcd9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 01:52 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Issue


Ok well thank you all for your help.

fc3sbah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HVAC condensor fan outside intermittant wheelsup HVAC 21 05-24-2012 11:25 AM
Westinghouse furnace issue joe8918 HVAC 9 12-04-2011 06:50 PM
how to reduce mositure issue on basement? diy001 Building & Construction 0 10-28-2011 01:44 PM
Perplexing AC issue AvalonGirl HVAC 22 08-17-2011 07:49 PM
CSST Gas Line Lightning Strike and Electrical Issue duteberta Electrical 18 07-29-2009 06:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.