Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-03-2012, 12:04 PM   #16
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,473
Share |
Default

Electric/Gas Fireplace won't start


I am not sure that I would agree that this cloth gasket is delicate. You will need to remove screws at the bottom of the front. If there are no screws on the top fronting then the fireplace glass facing & frame is hooked on a top lip. All removal actions must be done with the attention to not twist or bend the glass & frame during the removal process or you've suddenly cost yourself a couple of hundred bucks. Some fireplaces have loose glass in that frame so you need to not allow the glass to fall out when removing it. Many of many of my clients regularly remove the glass for cleaning but they probably have the owner's manuals to help them. You can post pictures of anything you are not sure of.

Last edited by how; 03-03-2012 at 12:10 PM.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 02:27 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Default

Electric/Gas Fireplace won't start


Hey guys,

So, I checked, and the dial won't turn any further - there is actually a white line on the set where the ON currently is, so I'm fairly positive that it is set to ON. Aside from that, there's no switch on the side of the unit, nor is it set to a light switch inside - being as though it's plugged into a wall outlet, I'm thinking that the ON switch as it were would need to be somewhere on the unit itself, but I can't find one for the life of me. Going to maybe grab a flashlight and dig underneath some more, see what I can see.
GordCooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 02:31 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Default

Electric/Gas Fireplace won't start


WOW

TINIEST rocker switch on Earth was located at the bottom right, outside the unit. Looks like we're cooking with gas now

Thanks for all the assists guys, it was a tech support "HAVE YOU CHECKED IF IT'S PLUGGED IN???" moment for sure.

Gord
GordCooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 02:54 PM   #19
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,473
Default

Electric/Gas Fireplace won't start


Great news!
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gas fireplace question - Who will save me? Pig General DIY Discussions 12 08-10-2010 09:34 AM
[Pics Inside] Unsure what this part does (electrical fireplace switch) rdiggidy Electrical 4 09-07-2009 06:14 PM
Fireplace remodel -- need advise & suggestions mwehnes Building & Construction 12 06-28-2009 09:36 PM
Fireplace leaking mmcginn2 Roofing/Siding 4 04-23-2006 10:12 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.