Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-16-2012, 07:05 PM   #46
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electric Furnace Filter is broken - what are my options?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ComfortablyNumb View Post
What can I do to make sure they last as long as possible?
I would just change them every 30 days. The amount of safe time before they plug too much is impossible to be certain of. Every 30 days seems to work and most of my customers report that the filter face is very dirty by then.

hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 07:57 PM   #47
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electric Furnace Filter is broken - what are my options?


I want give much thanks to everyone that contributed to this thread, you have all helped me out tremendously. Your advice has been excellent and I even learned some new things along the way! Cheers!
ComfortablyNumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 08:32 PM   #48
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electric Furnace Filter is broken - what are my options?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ComfortablyNumb View Post
What can I do to make sure they last as long as possible?
ALL 1 inch wide filters reguardless of what the package may say, are only good for 30 days of use.you need to measure the inside of the EAC cabinet, then find a corresponding sized filter.don't expect to find one thats exact..........your either going to be a 16 x 25 4 or a 20 x 25 x 4 or possibly 20x 20 x 4
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 07:26 AM   #49
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,621
Rewards Points: 2,380
Default

Electric Furnace Filter is broken - what are my options?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ComfortablyNumb View Post
What can I do to make sure they last as long as possible?

get your ductwork cleaned by a high quality duct cleaner or the robotic duct cleaners. do not use the el cheapo companies as they do a dog and pony show and have small weak vacuums. keep your house clean and cleanup after the pets (hair).
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 08:15 AM   #50
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electric Furnace Filter is broken - what are my options?


Just an aside: With every customer who switches to a pleated filter I do a temp rise with a clean filter in place. Many furnaces run too hot on the temp rise for a pleated filter to be used.

Sometimes this does not deter the HO and they end up causing premature damage and component failure of the furnace. Then try to explain why the warranty won't cover a repair.....
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 01:56 PM   #51
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electric Furnace Filter is broken - what are my options?


Hey guys, I finally had time to get a filter so I got the closest fit possible - 16x25x4 but its a bit to tall and about 2 inches too long. Can I force it in? Trim it to make it fit?
ComfortablyNumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 02:02 PM   #52
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electric Furnace Filter is broken - what are my options?


is there any mechanical structure inside of the eac that you can remove to make it fit?....such as guide pins?
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 02:10 PM   #53
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electric Furnace Filter is broken - what are my options?


Just took a look in the cabinet and I don't see anything that can be removed.
ComfortablyNumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 02:56 PM   #54
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,621
Rewards Points: 2,380
Default

Electric Furnace Filter is broken - what are my options?


unfortunately the only eacs that PROPERLY fit a filter are the Honeywell ones. I would recommend that you get the eac removed and replaced with a proper filter box like the Lennox healthy climate one or whatever other fits. The problem with just sticking a filter in is that there is usually a 1/2 to 1" gap around it and the eac on a lot of them and dust gets by.

http://www.lennox.com/products/indoo...-systems/HC10/
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
harleyrider (01-23-2012)
Old 01-23-2012, 03:14 PM   #55
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electric Furnace Filter is broken - what are my options?


Good advise from yuri.....the other option is to have a filter box fabricated and installed with some sort of door on it, we have done them in the past........very pricey
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 11:22 PM   #56
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electric Furnace Filter is broken - what are my options?


What if I cut it to fit properly?
ComfortablyNumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 11:28 PM   #57
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electric Furnace Filter is broken - what are my options?


you will lose the integrity of the filter
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 07:32 PM   #58
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electric Furnace Filter is broken - what are my options?


If I choose to remove the EAC and replace is with a standard filter like yuri suggested, is it an easy job?

Does anyone know any stores around the Toronto/York Region area that has a selection of furnace filters? What would you guys recommend? ARe they expensive?

Last edited by ComfortablyNumb; 01-27-2012 at 07:35 PM.
ComfortablyNumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 07:44 PM   #59
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electric Furnace Filter is broken - what are my options?


Whats the best way to tell if the cells are the problem or if it's the power board
Jano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 07:48 PM   #60
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electric Furnace Filter is broken - what are my options?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jano View Post
Whats the best way to tell if the cells are the problem or if it's the power board
I would say electrical meter...

ComfortablyNumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
whirlpool refrigerator has broken filter stouron Appliances 20 09-18-2014 04:08 PM
How to change air filter on this Bryant Plus 90 gas furnace? ohman HVAC 17 01-04-2012 05:15 PM
Upgrades for my old electric furnace? alochin HVAC 6 09-11-2011 06:09 PM
Furnace Model # Feh-015-04 clicking but not turning on? haimei HVAC 1 12-14-2010 05:01 PM
electric furnace need help Unregistered HVAC 3 10-16-2007 02:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.