Electric Furnace Burning Wire. Blows Cold. - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2010, 08:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electric furnace burning wire. Blows cold.


A few years back our mobile home electric furnace started blowing cold air. We checked it and seen that it had burnt a wire inside. We replaced that wire with higher grade wire, and it burnt that wire also. Element is fine, blower is fine, fuses replaced, but it keeps burning the wire and causes the air to blow cold. Someone told us to check the voltage regulator, because he had the same problem and said that fixed it. We are confused as to what a voltage regulator is, and when trying to look up that part we see nothing named that. Our furnace is an Intertherm brand. Our mobile home is a 1986 model, so the furnace is pretty old. Model # is FEH-012HA. It is 41k btu, 2.5 single speed. Not sure if that is all you guys need to know, but hope you can shine some light on this please. We have been without our furnace for many years now, relying on small space heaters. We just can't afford to pay an electrician to come out and check it. We just need to know what part we need to replace.

Advertisement

janix2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 12:08 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electric furnace burning wire. Blows cold.


Maybe one of these parts?

http://www.mobilehomerepair.com/NordyneElec.html

I just searched the web with your furnace part number and read some similar posts to yours.

Advertisement

philsoldat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 03:53 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electric furnace burning wire. Blows cold.


Quote:
Originally Posted by philsoldat View Post
Maybe one of these parts?

http://www.mobilehomerepair.com/NordyneElec.html

I just searched the web with your furnace part number and read some similar posts to yours.
Yea I found that site earlier. Not really sure what part I need, because apparently there is no such thing as a voltage regulator. Someone else told me that it could be a loose wire in the breaker box also.
janix2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 06:11 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,541
Rewards Points: 4,720
Default

Electric furnace burning wire. Blows cold.


How do you know the element is ok? Did you check its resistance. Did you check if its shorting to ground? What test did you do, to know the blower is ok?

How does the terminal that the wire connects to look?
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 09:10 PM   #5
Im a N00b Here!
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electric furnace burning wire. Blows cold.


You are going to spend as much on parts for this, than it will cost you for a service call to get to the bottom of the issue. I understand that you cannot afford to replace right now, but having a tech come out and tell you exactly whats wrong or what part need to be replaced is a good choice.

The service call may be $80-$120... but you won't waste that on parts that may or may not fix it.
GasFurnaceGuide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 10:22 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Electric furnace burning wire. Blows cold.


Does the furnace work correctly during the short period of time after you install a new higher grade wire and when it too burns up?

It is possible for a short circuit to have occurred in a manner that burns up some internal wiring but does not trip the breaker.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 08:10 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electric furnace burning wire. Blows cold.


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
Does the furnace work correctly during the short period of time after you install a new higher grade wire and when it too burns up?

It is possible for a short circuit to have occurred in a manner that burns up some internal wiring but does not trip the breaker.
Yes it works fine for a little while after we replaced the wire. If i remember correctly, it lasted a few days. We thought about just replacing the wire over and over, but even though it gets really cold without it we knew that would be a terrible idea.
janix2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 08:13 AM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,541
Rewards Points: 4,720
Default

Electric furnace burning wire. Blows cold.


What size is this wire. And how many strip heaters(KWs) is it supply electric to?
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 08:25 AM   #9
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,117
Rewards Points: 872
Default

Electric furnace burning wire. Blows cold.


Post some pics of the wire and sequencers and wiring area. Maybe we can spot the problem. Closeups with lots of lighting would be the best.

Advertisement

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gas furnace vs 1 room electric heater Red Squirrel HVAC 11 10-17-2009 09:23 PM
Gas Furnace - Burning smell at return blakemcginnis HVAC 4 01-26-2008 09:29 AM
CARRIER 58RAV Furnace Blows Cold Air-No Heat sarosie HVAC 2 12-05-2007 01:00 AM
Tie-in of a Coleman electric furnace nilo HVAC 9 01-03-2007 04:45 PM
wire size wire to 10kw furnace? lochcarron Electrical 1 04-10-2005 08:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts