Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-14-2008, 11:23 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: St Francois Xavier, MB
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Electric Furnace Burned Element Wiring - Cause?


Hi Folks:

First post here and I really need your help for peace of mind. I'm an electronically handy guy, but limited experience with high current AC devices.

This furnace was rebuilt 2 years ago with new sequencers, and 24 volt transformer. This summer, a tech came in and refurbished the air conditioning system.

At the moment, we have a -40 windchill and last night the furnace wouldn't respond to the thermostat ... furnace was on full. Tried fooling with thermostat programming and it wouldn't respond to ANY programing inputs. Removed and replaced batteries, same problem. Thermostat troubleshooting guide said to check furnace. I opened up the furnace for inspection and found several power wires from the sequencer to the element had burned through and there was lots of carbon from the insulation.

I have no heat at the moment and am using electric space heaters as primary heat til tomorrow when I can get it serviced.

I'll try to attach a couple of pictures to show the problem.

My question is what could have caused this degree of overheating of the wires to the point of flames?

If it were a simple failure, I'd have no reservations about replacing the sequencers and powering it up ... the burned wires give me second thoughts though .... what's your advice on how to handle this?

Thanks in advance for taking the time to help out and post.

Pictures below ... if this works .. LOL.

Regards,
Lee
Attached Thumbnails
Electric Furnace Burned Element Wiring - Cause?-edited-002.jpg   Electric Furnace Burned Element Wiring - Cause?-edited-003.jpg   Electric Furnace Burned Element Wiring - Cause?-edited-004.jpg  
Attached Images
 

Radioguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 11:28 AM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,417
Rewards Points: 38
Default

Electric Furnace Burned Element Wiring - Cause?


Old age/vibration/poor connections. How old is the furnace? I have seen this LOTS in my 30 yrs on the job. If the furnace is over 20 yrs old I start recommending to my customers to replace them. I have seen a lot worse than that but it is an awfully expensive rewiring/repair job when that happens.

yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 12:59 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: St Francois Xavier, MB
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Electric Furnace Burned Element Wiring - Cause?


Yuri:

Thanks for your advice.

Small world ... I'm in St Francis Xavier.

Furnace is about 25 years old.

Lee
Radioguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 01:06 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,417
Rewards Points: 38
Default

Electric Furnace Burned Element Wiring - Cause?


Then you are freezing your a** off with the rest of us. The only electric furnaces that parts are readily available for is the Nortrons. For under$3000 you can get a new one installed. Yours is toast IMO.

Cheers

Last edited by yuri; 12-14-2008 at 01:07 PM. Reason: bad spelling
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 02:40 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: St Francois Xavier, MB
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Electric Furnace Burned Element Wiring - Cause?


Well, that's good news about the price. I had no idea they were so "reasonable" compared to a repair.

I should have done that when it was rebuilt 2 years ago .... what's the saying? ... Too soon we grow old, too late we grow smart.

Lee
Radioguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 11:35 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,072
Rewards Points: 40
Default

Electric Furnace Burned Element Wiring - Cause?


Poor wire terminal connections.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 06:55 PM   #7
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Electric Furnace Burned Element Wiring - Cause?


those slip connectotr and add some fan vibration even air moving over the element can cause the wires to draw over amps and melt them. as you see and notice where the melting started at the slip connector,and started to work its way onto the wire.....recut all the melted wires,and check all the connections right back into the CB panel for that heat.

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bryant electric furnace cmazgo HVAC 5 12-06-2008 04:40 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
electric furnace need help Unregistered HVAC 3 10-16-2007 02:41 AM
Tie-in of a Coleman electric furnace nilo HVAC 9 01-03-2007 03:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.