Electric Furnace Blowing Breaker - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2010, 09:21 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 249
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Electric furnace blowing breaker


Sorry I didn't mention, the filter is brand new and the blower motor doesn't seem to be making any unusual noises or have anything bound up inside it.

Advertisement

burnt03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 09:45 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electric furnace blowing breaker


OK time to open up the electrical panels on the heater and look at all the wiring and check all connections for loose ness(is that a word?) .Also look for burnt wires.

AFTER YOU SHUT OFF THE MAIN POWER.
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 11:00 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electric furnace blowing breaker


let us know what happens my vote is still on the breaker
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 11:52 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electric furnace blowing breaker


Need an amp meter. Not voting until then.
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 12:02 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electric furnace blowing breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by SULTINI View Post
Need an amp meter. Not voting until then.

he has one, 85 amps on a 125 brkr
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 12:07 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electric furnace blowing breaker


Thanks Kennzz05, must have failed reading missed the 85 I vote with Kennzz05.
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 02:11 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 249
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Electric furnace blowing breaker


Connections all seemed fine, didn't see or smell any burnt wires/connections.

I'll try changing out the breaker, probably won't know if it works for a while though, problem is very intermittent.

I'll let you know!
burnt03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 02:27 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 249
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Electric furnace blowing breaker


Changed the breaker a couple of weeks back and all seems well.

A fellow that does instrumentation work for us is an electrician and offered to buy the breaker for me, little bit cheaper that way. He happened to be in town so came over and looked and found quite a few problems.....

20A breakers where 15A breakers should have been
30A breakers running two appliances (220V hot water heater, 220V dryer, etc)
There was a single pole 40A that he took out, I'm not sure what that was supplying


So, all is said and done, have a new 125A breaker, 3 new 30A breakers and the peace of mind to know that it's as it should be. The breakers below the 125A seemed a bit loose on the panel, he said it was possible that the heat that was generating was moving up and causing false trips.

Thanks for all the tips, hopefully this'll solve it!
burnt03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 01:10 AM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electric furnace blowing breaker


I just checked my furnace today, and found this, as you can see the panel is burnt, Time to call an electrician, Is it safe to run the furnace with this wiring issue in the inturm??
Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Electric furnace blowing breaker-furnace6.jpg  
bremax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 05:12 AM   #25
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,471
Rewards Points: 4,588
Default

Electric furnace blowing breaker


Not really. The wire will burn up more as its used. May need an HVAC tech, to find out why its burning. Many electricians don't get involved with electric air handlers.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 07:22 PM   #26
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

Electric furnace blowing breaker


is that limit switch shorted causing the overheating of the wire?
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 09:36 PM   #27
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electric furnace blowing breaker


Are these heating coils that are burnt, I hope this wont be a costly fix
Attached Thumbnails
Electric furnace blowing breaker-furnace4.jpg  
bremax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 09:50 PM   #28
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,471
Rewards Points: 4,588
Default

Electric furnace blowing breaker


Those are the thermal limits that have the burnt wires. Depends what caused the burnt wires, as to how expensive the repair is or isn't.

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new electric water heater - Vacuum breaker necessary? J187 Plumbing 12 05-26-2012 09:42 AM
Electric furnace makes loud noise like a breaker when it starts?? epyke HVAC 5 10-13-2009 06:03 PM
New electric dryer is blowing breaker! minameismud Electrical 7 09-14-2008 11:45 PM
electric furnace help nikko4 HVAC 2 11-13-2007 08:43 PM
60 Amp Electric Furnace AverageJoseph Electrical 13 06-22-2007 08:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts