Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-23-2009, 08:20 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 248
Share |
Default

Electric furnace blowing breaker


Have an American standard electric furnace.

Couple times over the past month I've woken up and the furnace hasn't kicked in. Further check shows that the breaker (in the box) has blown.

I'm a rook so excuse the questions, but where should I start first?

Thanks in advance!
burnt03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 08:46 AM   #2
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Default

Electric furnace blowing breaker


You need to check the temp on breaker. If its hot then you may have heating elelments going bad but if not hot it can just be a bad breaker. I like to say at this time please call the pro's
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 06:40 PM   #3
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,330
Default

Electric furnace blowing breaker


You need to get it checked by a licensed service electrician or heating tech ASAP. You may have bad connections inside and they WILL overheat, arc/spark and the wiring can melt and smoke and if left long enough start on fire. Seen quite a few roasted electric furnaces in my career.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 08:42 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Electric furnace blowing breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by burnt03 View Post
I've woken up
the breaker (in the box) has blown.
If it took hours for the breaker to trip you may be looking for a very mild overload or bad breaker connections.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 07:15 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,459
Default

Electric furnace blowing breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by filtersupply View Post
The world's no.1 filter manufacturing and distribution company


If you wish to purchase advertisement. Use This

No free advertising
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 06:46 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 248
Default

Electric furnace blowing breaker


Did it again last night, tried calling a tech today. No one available that's familiar with electric furnaces, but the guy said that the first thing they'll do is change the breaker.

As a side note, the two 60A breakers on the furnace have never tripped on me (I assume one for each stage), only the main 125A one.

I took the clamp on multimeter home from work and read approximately 80A running through the feed wires at first start-up and during regular operation. The connections at the breaker are tight and it doesn't seem to be getting very warm.

I guess I'll try changing the breaker and if that doesn't work, have to wait for a tech to check it out.
burnt03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 06:49 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Electric furnace blowing breaker


If you are tripping the Main 125a breaker then it is either:

Main breaker is failing
OR You are exceeding the 125a capacity

What else in your house uses electricity ?

You have (2) 60a feeds for electric heat & only a 125a Main panel ?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 09:48 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 248
Default

Electric furnace blowing breaker


Hi Scuba,

Sorry I wasn't more clear.

I have a 200A service to the house. The electric furnace has a 125A breaker switch. On the furnace itself is a small hatch, behind it being (2) 60A breaker switches. It is the 125A breaker specifically for the furnace that is tripping on me.

Like I mentioned, I had a gauge on the amperage draw on startup (which I assumed to be where the most draw will occur?) and it doesn't get much higher than 85A. So unless there's a short that occurs at a different part in the cycle, it doesn't seem to be exceeding the 125A.
burnt03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 01:35 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Default

Electric furnace blowing breaker


sounds like youre on the right track suspecting the breaker. im suprised they didnt run 2 circuits to the furnace.
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 05:18 AM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,459
Default

Electric furnace blowing breaker


Did you check the amp draw at the air handler. Or at the 125 amp panel box?
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 08:14 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 248
Default

Electric furnace blowing breaker


At the panel box. Are you thinking there might be a problem with the wiring between the 125A breaker and the (2) 60A breakers in the handler? I'll have to check that after work.

On the bright side, it didn't kick off last night
burnt03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 10:36 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Electric furnace blowing breaker


Could be a bad connection to the breaker which causes heating at the connection.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 09:51 PM   #13
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,792
Default

Electric furnace blowing breaker


motor making noise,filter clogged? check simple things first.
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 06:59 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Default

Electric furnace blowing breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
motor making noise,filter clogged? check simple things first.
Yeah simple things first then amp readings then solution.

Oh sorry it's back wards first open heater and look around real good and check all connections then proceed to our suggestion.
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 08:00 AM   #15
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,792
Default

Electric furnace blowing breaker


how about checking obvious stuff before the guy starts replacing circuit breakers? like a filter that hasnt been changed in months cusing no air flow across motor or heat exchanger,or a filter wrapped up in the motor causing an overload.definately dont check simple things first!
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new electric water heater - Vacuum breaker necessary? J187 Plumbing 12 05-26-2012 08:42 AM
Electric furnace makes loud noise like a breaker when it starts?? epyke HVAC 5 10-13-2009 05:03 PM
New electric dryer is blowing breaker! minameismud Electrical 7 09-14-2008 10:45 PM
electric furnace help nikko4 HVAC 2 11-13-2007 07:43 PM
60 Amp Electric Furnace AverageJoseph Electrical 13 06-22-2007 07:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.