Electric Furnace Blower - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2011, 05:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Angry

electric furnace blower


I have an Intertherm electric furnace that refuses to shutdown after completing the heating cycle. It does this intermittently, not all the time. I had a HVAC guy look at it 4 weeks ago, for 15 minutes and charged me 60.00 and did nothing. He said he would need to come back several times and replace one thing at a time and see what remedied the problem. I said no way. I ordered a new thermostat and replaced it myself. Furnace worked okay for 3 weeks, now it's back to working okay for part of the day then blower runs and heats without stopping. Turning the thermostat to off does not cut it off. I'm old and live alone, with limited income. What is the problem, so I can get someone reliable to maybe repair this.

Many thanks.

Advertisement

Fedupw/furnace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 06:05 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,097
Rewards Points: 832
Default

electric furnace blower


one of the heat sequencers is intermittently sticking. in defense of the tech he has to see it when it is sticking in order to know which one. may need to leave it running when that happens and get someone down quickly to see it.
Attached Images
 

Advertisement

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
Fedupw/furnace (12-26-2011)
Old 12-26-2011, 06:10 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

electric furnace blower


He did not explain this to me...many thanks to you for explaining the process. Sorry if I offended anyone.
Fedupw/furnace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 06:23 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 500
Default

electric furnace blower


Most likely you have two sequencers, bite the bullet and replace them both......its a common problem on electric units.....
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 06:58 PM   #5
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,097
Rewards Points: 832
Default

electric furnace blower


I agree. If it is a small furnace with only 2 sequencers get them both replaced at the same time as the other will fail soon anyway. I have large 20 to 30 KW units with 4 or more sequencers and then it is not so practical but with 2 replace them both and you have a almost new furnace.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 12:49 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

electric furnace blower


Many thanks to Harley Man and Yuri! I'll give this a shot and see what happens.

Advertisement

Fedupw/furnace is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier Furnace code 33 @ startup blower fan sounds like jet Frank Ottawa HVAC 6 04-19-2011 08:12 AM
How to change blower speed in Luxaire furnace joef2 HVAC 1 03-03-2011 11:49 AM
Trane Furnace Blower Running Nearly Continuously stephensandlin HVAC 3 01-03-2010 02:21 AM
Bryant Gas Furnace - blower sarts and stops montepix HVAC 7 12-24-2009 05:11 PM
electric furnace need help Unregistered HVAC 3 10-16-2007 03:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts