Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-08-2011, 09:21 PM   #1
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,663
Share |
Default

Electric Air Handler


On call for heat the blower will not turn on. Blower does work on fan but even on cool did not come on, unless I was supposed to jump to G as well which I did not do.?? Condenser kicked on but no blower in cool. New stat. One thing I noticed was that one leg at the 60 amp breaker in the unit itself was sparking. The heating elements were on but no blower. The 30 amp breaker to the elements were jumped, leg to leg.

??


Last edited by Doc Holliday; 12-08-2011 at 09:23 PM.
Doc Holliday is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 09:28 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Electric Air Handler


Thermostat should energize G with a call for heat or cool on an air handler. Some have a switch on the back for electric or gas heat option to control that.

Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 09:46 PM   #3
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 586
Default

Electric Air Handler


What meter do you have Doc?
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 07:47 AM   #4
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,663
Default

Electric Air Handler


This is an old unit that started acting up so the HO (a friend) changed the stat but I did not even think about the gas/elec switch (completely slipped the mind) while there yesterday so thanks for the reminder, Marty. I'll call him and tell him.

Thing is is I removed the R at the air handler and was jumping there, without the stat in circuit and nothing. Heating elements would come on but no blower while on call.

Fieldpiece SC77.
Doc Holliday is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 07:48 AM   #5
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,663
Default

Electric Air Handler


But maybe I needed to jump the G as well? The stat brings on the fan in heat and if it was on gas??
Doc Holliday is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 05:00 PM   #6
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 586
Default

Electric Air Handler


Yes, you would need to jump G as well with many air handlers.

The Fieldpiece SC77 is a good meter. I with I had bought that instead of my Fluke 902. Better specs and a better price.

Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
90 amp electric car charger! The future... Billy_Bob Electrical 16 02-16-2010 02:01 PM
Why does my air handler have an electric heater elcid HVAC 3 01-17-2010 02:52 PM
heat pump VS electric air handler V Moe HVAC 1 06-30-2009 09:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.