Ductless Unit Has Dripping Hose In Basement - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2007, 01:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ductless unit has dripping hose in basement


I had a contractor install two Heil ductless units on my kitchen and bedroom walls inside my house with the main unit outside. We used them for the first time yesterday and was surprised to discover water dripping steadily out of the end of a hose in the basement. The hose just ends and I'm wondering if this hose is to handle the condensation and that maybe the contractor just forgot to hook this hose up to a drain somehow in the basement. Any thoughts?

Advertisement

tockfull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 12:34 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Ductless unit has dripping hose in basement


That hose is most likely the condensate drain, as you guessed. Ductless split systems typically have a small rubber hose for the condensate drain (rather than PVC or copper on a larger AC unit).

You would be amazed at how frequently I see those things be neglected as far as routing them to a floor drain - even on commercial applications where the contractors are supposed to be following specific drawings and specifications.

The contractor should definitely be responsible for running that to a floor drain.

In the meantime, is the hose in an unfinished area? Is it anywhere near a floor drain? If it will not extend to a nearby drain, you could just buy some 3/4" PVC and make up a temporary (or even permanent) drain extension - just make sure you slope it to the drain, and then stick the end of the hose into it.

Advertisement

pjpjpjpj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 11:50 PM   #3
Mechanical Contractor
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 115
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Ductless unit has dripping hose in basement


If he forgot to properly run the line to a drain or pump, or just the outside, he still has to warranty his work, it shouldn't be your responcibility.
MechanicalDVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 09:17 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ductless unit has dripping hose in basement


Thanks for the help. I was hoping I wasn't losing my mind in thinking that this was the correct way it was supposed to be installed! I've put up a temporary drain pipe as you suggested into the sump pump drain nearby until the contractor returns.

Thanks again!
tockfull is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement - need to bust up about 1 ft deeper FallenAngel Building & Construction 7 08-15-2007 10:09 AM
Sub Basement Walkout - Please Help pgs_28 Building & Construction 11 08-12-2007 10:55 PM
garden hose water spillage questions mcvane Landscaping & Lawn Care 10 07-29-2007 01:27 AM
A/C Unit for basement mickmeister HVAC 1 07-10-2007 01:01 PM
Mr Slim Ductless wiring? karl3200 HVAC 2 05-30-2006 06:07 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts