Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-23-2009, 08:30 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 278
Share |
Default

Ducting question


One particular run (2nd floor) is long and tortuous.

Its takeoff is located close to the basement furnace. There is a section of 6" duct (accessible) which runs about 20 feet, then elbows up into the structure (not accessible).

Would increasing the size of the 20 foot section change the dynamic of the airflow (CFM/velocity) into that room?

V

veesubotee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 10:16 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Ducting question


http://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/du...oss-d_444.html
gives you duct friction but you also need the 'fan curve' for your HVAC system to solve for the end result CFM and FPM.

BTW, a low-tech way of measuring CFM is to tape a huge garbage bag over the register and time how long it takes to fill it.
For approximate velocity in feet/minute, divide the CFM by the duct area [0.2 ft² for a 6" round duct, so 100 CFM would equal 500 FPM].

You could also try a variable speed duct booster fan, but it also boosts the noise level so put the fan at the takeoff end. Comfort vs. fan noise is up to each person so with variable speed you can select your own optimum point.


Last edited by Yoyizit; 08-23-2009 at 02:57 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 06:13 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,807
Default

Ducting question


Yes it would. How much depends.

You may also need to increasethe amount of return you have.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 05:20 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 278
Default

Ducting question


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Yes it would. How much depends.

You may also need to increase the amount of return you have.
Been, would this work with an 'increaser' you mentioned in the 'other' forum?

V
veesubotee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 05:25 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,807
Default

Ducting question


Best if you use a take off the size the new duct is, from the main duct/plenum, and then use a reducer at the end that goes into the unaccessable area.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 05:52 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 278
Default

Ducting question


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Best if you use a take off the size the new duct is, from the main duct/plenum, and then use a reducer at the end that goes into the unaccessable area.
I thought that your answer would be something along that (above) line LOL.

V

veesubotee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bathroom ventilation question - tight workspace! Hawkeye HVAC 2 08-18-2009 03:31 PM
Installing Ducting for New Home Addition marshstate HVAC 12 07-19-2009 09:23 PM
Bathroom Exhaust Ducting Question ande3171 General DIY Discussions 2 04-20-2009 05:59 AM
Ducting question? thunderhead HVAC 4 03-25-2009 04:52 AM
One furnace question and one thermostat question lh0628 HVAC 4 10-11-2007 10:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.