Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2010, 11:30 PM   #1
Doomed DIY'er
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Southwestern Indiana
Posts: 14
Share |
Default

Duct Routing


I am planning to put a bonus room in my basement. The area where I am planning on putting it has two ducts passing through it, serving registers on the first floor. Here is the plan, showing the walls I want to put up and the current duct locations.



Here, you are looking at where I'd like the door into the room to be. That wall is running parallell to the joist. The walls are 7' so head room is at a premium.

Obviously, I need to change how these ducts are routed. One duct branches directly off the main stack on top of the furnace, the other is off the central distribution duct.

The joists are 2x9's running left to right in the picture. There are cross braces between the joists which prevent me from moving the duct fully up into the joists, so there will be about 2" inches below the joist.

The rear duct I think can stay where it's at. I'll just move it up into the joists as much as possible and then just build a soffit to conceal what sticks out below the joist.

I am looking for suggestions about the front duct.

Option 1
I am thinking about routing it around the room. This will require changing the 45 turn coming out of the furnace into a 90 and adding another 90 turn to pass in front of the room.

Option 2
The second option is to run both ducts through a soffit at the back of the room and then turn 90 and run the front one up to it's register.

Is either option a good idea? Is there a better option?

clayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 04:35 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,544
Default

Duct Routing


If you run around the room, and use 90's. Then the duct should be increased in size, to the next size larger. So that you don't lose/lessen air flow to that room.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 08:18 AM   #3
Doomed DIY'er
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Southwestern Indiana
Posts: 14
Default

Duct Routing


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
If you run around the room, and use 90's. Then the duct should be increased in size, to the next size larger. So that you don't lose/lessen air flow to that room.
I assume that size increase will require cutting a larger hole in the source duct. Or, can a setup-up collar just off the central distribution duct accomplish this. I think the current duct is 6", so hopefully there is a larger standard size and accompanying step-up collar.

Last edited by clayman; 11-11-2010 at 08:21 AM.
clayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 05:48 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,544
Default

Duct Routing


Need to cut a larger hole in the plenum.

7" is the next size up from 6.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Planning on New duct work..any feedback... kilosos2 HVAC 28 01-26-2011 09:21 AM
Sealing air return duct jd1979 HVAC 8 10-07-2010 07:46 PM
Metal duct or flex? smokey982 HVAC 6 08-06-2010 06:20 AM
adding duct work and outlet jjrbus HVAC 17 05-30-2010 02:13 PM
Condensation in Wall: Can I Seal a Dryer Duct With Caulk? xquercus HVAC 5 07-01-2007 02:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.