Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-13-2013, 02:03 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Duct Fan Relay Question


Our home is a 2400 sq ft 4 bedroom cape with 3 bedrooms and a bath on the second floor. HVAC is run with all 6" round ducts coming off the main trunk that transition to 6" ovasl in the walls and then 6x10 registers in the rooms. Each room has the same sized duct and return.

One upstairs bedroom is on the opposite end of the house from the furnace and gets very little airflow...the trunk runs about 40' from the furnace along the main beam in the basement, then the 6" round branch runs about 12' to the outside wall, then the 6" oval runs upstairs 2 stories to the bedroom.

I added this built in cabinet and used 6" round flex duct through the cabinet to move the duct under the window, and ended with a 4x10 register. Of course adding another few feet of duct didn't really help any...



Since the basement is unfinished, I am thinking of adding a duct booster fan in the 6" round duct that runs between the floor joists in the basement between the trunk and the outside wall. The furnace controller has EAC terminals but they are currently powering a humidifier unit. My plan is to use a current sensing relay to power the duct fan, but not sure which wire is the main power wire to the fan. Alternatively could I install the relay on the power wire to the draft inducer fan?







Last edited by Burbman; 03-13-2013 at 04:22 PM.
Burbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 05:01 PM   #2
as seen on tv
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: pa
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Duct Fan Relay Question


If you are talking about the clip on current relay, take power from the line feeding the furnace. clip the relay around the common to sense blower on.

qbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 06:08 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Duct Fan Relay Question


Any idea which wire in the pic that might be?
Burbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 06:33 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,083
Rewards Points: 3,826
Default

Duct Fan Relay Question


Put it on the common wire of the blower. That will be the white wire that comes from the blower with the black, blue, yellow and red wires.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 08:34 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Duct Fan Relay Question


Ok thanks!
Burbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Planning on New duct work..any feedback... kilosos2 HVAC 28 01-26-2011 10:21 AM
Wiring a Honeywell RA89A Relay shawnmd HVAC 7 10-21-2010 07:58 PM
duct question 7echo HVAC 1 08-09-2009 02:53 PM
General Question about a duct lda130 HVAC 7 07-31-2009 06:24 AM
Question Re: New Furnace and Duct Sizing DSimo HVAC 3 06-17-2008 08:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.