Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-18-2010, 03:22 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Duct Disconnected in hard to reach area


There was hot air coming from one of my vents so I went up to the attic and could feel cool air coming from the area it was in. I am assuming the ductwork has been disconnected somehow. The only problem: it is in an area I cannot get to. How would I go about fixing this?

needhelp06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 04:10 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,506
Default

Duct Disconnected in hard to reach area


Figure out how they ran it there. And then access it that way.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
COLDIRON (08-19-2010)
Old 08-18-2010, 04:13 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,219
Default

Duct Disconnected in hard to reach area


You have to get to it somehow.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 05:22 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Duct Disconnected in hard to reach area


Swimming in attic insulation,ahh the joys of summer. Lots of folks would rather pay for that to be done rather then DIY.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 05:42 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,506
Default

Duct Disconnected in hard to reach area


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty S. View Post
Swimming in attic insulation,ahh the joys of summer. Lots of folks would rather pay for that to be done rather then DIY.
Yep. Nothing like being itchy all day after working in an attic.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 11:41 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: MI
Posts: 37
Default

Duct Disconnected in hard to reach area


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty S. View Post
Swimming in attic insulation,ahh the joys of summer. Lots of folks would rather pay for that to be done rather then DIY.
No, it's a very simple DIY project
gena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 06:05 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,219
Default

Duct Disconnected in hard to reach area


I hate the insulation and the little pointy roofing nails that I have bumped my head into about 1000 times.

Have fun or wait till the weather changes soon. Still itches and nails but don't seem as bad.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 10:40 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Duct Disconnected in hard to reach area


I went back up in the attic and took a picture. see attached. I see no way to get in there. how else can this be fixed? how would an professional even do it?
Attached Thumbnails
Duct Disconnected in hard to reach area-0820100700-01.jpg  
needhelp06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 10:44 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Duct Disconnected in hard to reach area


by the way. the ductwork in the picture is going away from the HVAC into a room with a raised ceiling. 1 is the return air duct, and the other has not reached the register yet. from that register, 1 duct is connected properly, and the other isn't ( i only know this because hot air comes from one vent, and cold from the other).
needhelp06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 11:01 AM   #10
fabrk8r
 
fabrk8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 849
Default

Duct Disconnected in hard to reach area


Is it disconnected at the register or at a joint further away from the register?

If it's just disconnected from the register you may be able to remove the register, reach in and pull the flex out enough to reattach it to the register and push the register back into the opening and refasten it.

There is kind of a special technique used to attach flexible wiremold flex duct to keep it from coming loose.
__________________
"The physician can bury his mistakes, but the architect can only advise his clients to plant vines." -- Frank Lloyd Wright
fabrk8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 11:06 AM   #11
fabrk8r
 
fabrk8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 849
Default

Duct Disconnected in hard to reach area


Quote:
Originally Posted by needhelp06 View Post
1 is the return air duct, and the other has not reached the register yet. from that register, 1 duct is connected properly, and the other isn't ( i only know this because hot air comes from one vent, and cold from the other).
Just to clarify...are you saying the supply duct that is disconnected is supposed to be supplying 2 registers, but only one supply register has cold air coming out and the return register is connected and working properly?
__________________
"The physician can bury his mistakes, but the architect can only advise his clients to plant vines." -- Frank Lloyd Wright
fabrk8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 01:04 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Duct Disconnected in hard to reach area


The installers had to hook up the flex first then pull it back. You'll need to do the same thing or cut the ceiling to work from below.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 03:52 PM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,506
Default

Duct Disconnected in hard to reach area


Might have to unconnect some of what is there. To get in to reconnect the flex.

It bites. But thats what the architect and builder left the HVAC sub to work with.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 01:05 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Duct Disconnected in hard to reach area


Quote:
Originally Posted by fabrk8r View Post
Just to clarify...are you saying the supply duct that is disconnected is supposed to be supplying 2 registers, but only one supply register has cold air coming out and the return register is connected and working properly?
the duct on the left keeps going then connects to two other ducts (i dont know the right terminology). one of those two is connected property and blows cold air. the other is disconnected. [the duct on the right in the pic is return air]
needhelp06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 01:08 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Duct Disconnected in hard to reach area


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Might have to unconnect some of what is there. To get in to reconnect the flex.

It bites. But thats what the architect and builder left the HVAC sub to work with.
the left duct goes from the HVAC to past where the picture was taken with no breaks. it is about 20 ft. of duct that i can see...so i don't see anywhere i can disconnect to give me space. could i cut the duct in 2 so i can more part of it out of the way...crawl back to fix the problem...then reconnect what i cut with a joint? or are ducts not able to be cut and reconnected?

needhelp06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
attic, duct work, hvac, vents


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Return Air Vents stubits HVAC 149 04-21-2010 04:50 PM
flex duct termination issue LanterDan HVAC 2 02-12-2009 05:59 AM
duct work framing kama Carpentry 4 11-15-2008 12:40 PM
Modifying existing duct work Thurgee HVAC 3 04-05-2007 09:35 AM
help Chuckman Off Topic 8 06-15-2006 10:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.