Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-29-2012, 08:32 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

duct board plenum


Hi I am building a cottage and installing a Rheem air handler. The package included duct board plenums for supply and return. Plenums are pre-cut. The air handler came with 1" flanges for the supply and return. How do I attach the duct board plenums to the air handler?

Thanks
hoboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 08:42 AM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,457
Default

duct board plenum


UL listed Aluminum Foil Tape.



You can also use Mastik Hardcast but it can be messy. It's kind of a putty like goop that dries up rock hard. For diy'er, use this tape. Legal and to code and clean.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 08:56 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Default

duct board plenum


Thanks - do I attach the plenums right to the air handler and tape the joint? Or does there need to be some sort of sheet metal transition between the air handler and the duct board plenum?
hoboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 09:03 AM   #4
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,457
Default

duct board plenum


Butted directly to one another, no joint needed. Good idea to prop up the far end of the plenum with some bricks or 2 x 4's and leave them there. Level it out to make the job easy and to lessen any stress gravity will put on it, especially with ducts attached.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 09:07 AM   #5
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,457
Default

duct board plenum


__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 09:10 AM   #6
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,457
Default

duct board plenum


Don't shy from using two or three strips of tape to completely seal each side, making the entire strip wide so it grips the duct board and the air handler really well.

If you have a squeegee to rub the tape down it would be best, really pushing down on it.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 08:18 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Default

duct board plenum


I have the ductboard supply plenum in place. It is 48" long. Does it matter where I put the start collars? Do they need to be near the end of the plenum farthest from the air handler? Can they be close to the air handler? Or does it matter where the start collars are cut in?
hoboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Planning on New duct work..any feedback... kilosos2 HVAC 28 01-26-2011 09:21 AM
Sealing air return duct jd1979 HVAC 8 10-07-2010 07:46 PM
Metal duct or flex? smokey982 HVAC 6 08-06-2010 06:20 AM
Removing Extended Plenum Calm_Blue_Ocean HVAC 15 01-07-2008 05:22 PM
Condensation in Wall: Can I Seal a Dryer Duct With Caulk? xquercus HVAC 5 07-01-2007 02:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.