Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-30-2010, 07:31 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lee county FL
Posts: 392
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Duct board


It seems my current duct work is too small. 12X12, outside dimension, made from duct board. Duct board comes in 4X8 sheets so to use it to make a larger duct would result in a lot of waste. Does board come in different sizes, is there a better product to use?
JIm

jjrbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 08:12 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,580
Rewards Points: 2,840
Default

Duct board


No, it 4X8X8 is it.

Not as much waste as you may think. 1 sheet of 1" think duct board will only make 2 pieces of 12X12(inside dimension, outside would be 14X14) duct. With only 8" of waste. If you were to use 1" think duct board, it would make 2-12X12 with no waste.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 08:13 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Duct board


Ductboard also comes in 4x10 from our supply shop.
fpeftw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 10:26 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,580
Rewards Points: 2,840
Default

Duct board


Quote:
Originally Posted by fpeftw View Post
Ductboard also comes in 4x10 from our supply shop.
LOL... I got carried away with my typing.
It should have been 4X4X10
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 07:47 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lee county FL
Posts: 392
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Duct board


Now it makes sense!! Thanks for bringing that up fpeftw. I'm thinking 3 14x8 from the first piece adding a 14x8 from the second piece

My current 10x10 inside dimension would be 100 square inch. A 12x12 ID would be 144 sq in a gain of 44%. Would that be large enough for a 2 ton system??

JIm
jjrbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 08:16 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Duct board


That should be adequate for a 2 ton system. How long of a run are you making?
fpeftw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 08:47 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lee county FL
Posts: 392
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Duct board


I am still in the thinking planning stage, so not sure. Plus add I know nothing about HVAC! I would like to learn enough to either DIY or make an educated choice for contractor to hire.

What would be an optimal length for a 12X12 duct with a 2 ton unit?

Thanks for the response JIm
jjrbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 08:53 AM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,580
Rewards Points: 2,840
Default

Duct board


Min 8X20, or 10X16. ID.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 09:02 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lee county FL
Posts: 392
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Duct board


Now I see a lot of waste useing duct board. Does duct come premade in these size's?? What would be an optimal or maximum length??
JIm
jjrbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 09:08 AM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,580
Rewards Points: 2,840
Default

Duct board


Is no one optimal length.

Some companies carried pre-made. It is 8" high, and you can usually get it in up to 28" width, and they are all 4 foot long.

The ID is determined by the total equivalent length of the duct system.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 10:17 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lee county FL
Posts: 392
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Duct board


Thanks beenthere, I found an online duct fabricator manual, makes things a lot clearer.

http://www.knaufinsulation.us/PDF/AH...nuals-2007.pdf

I'm sure you don't need it but may help someone else.

I am confident I could do the actual fabrication and installation of the duct work. The design of the system seems like it should be left to someone who knows what they are doing. Do you know of any online design services??

Thanks again JIm
jjrbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 10:33 AM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,580
Rewards Points: 2,840
Default

Duct board


No I don't.
Lot of them just use a .1" friction rate, no matter how long the duct is. And thats not the right way.

Can you make a drawing of how your duct is now. And how you want to change it.
Then we could give you advise on what will and won't work. And what can be done to make it better.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 01:30 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lee county FL
Posts: 392
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Duct board


Yes I can, will take some time. JIm
jjrbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 01:41 PM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,580
Rewards Points: 2,840
Default

Duct board


No problem.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 12:21 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lee county FL
Posts: 392
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Duct board


Here is a floor plan, old setup and beginnings of new set up. Old plan has air handler on east end of house, I believe it would be better on the west end of house. Then I have many questions.
You suggested 8X20 or 10X16 duct. 10X16 looks better for me. The old duct is connected to the Air handler by flex. Could I still do that? Could I use large flex for entire warm air return??
I'm doing this in a trussed attic with a 30 inch height at peak, so space is at a premium.
JIm

Opps. 12X8 in floorplan is size of registers. 1st or top drawing is present duct. 2nd or bottom is the proposed one.
Attached Thumbnails
Duct board-floor-plan.jpg   Duct board-old-duct.jpg   Duct board-new-duct.jpg  


Last edited by jjrbus; 06-06-2010 at 12:30 AM.
jjrbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
installing backer board over particle board bob mac Flooring 6 07-16-2013 03:15 PM
luxaire/york 33109167000 furnace board replacement check HVAC 18 07-13-2009 10:03 AM
Transistion from Duct Board to Sheet metal zootjeff HVAC 0 06-29-2009 12:05 PM
Fiber board duct & humidifier BigD HVAC 1 12-26-2007 06:04 AM
Installing deck ledger board over foam board? RickT Building & Construction 5 11-06-2006 10:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.