Ducane Gas Furnace Problem - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2009, 11:37 AM   #1
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

Ducane gas furnace problem

Hi, I'm newbie to forum and have a problem Ducane gas furnace. It has never worked since installed and installer dinked me around to where labor and parts waranty have expired - so I'm on my own.
Problem is: Inducer to condesate trap hose gets too much water in it. Furnace will try to start but will, of course shut down. I take the hose loose and blow it out and the furnace will work fine for a time until it happens again.
Any suggestions???


rugger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 12:29 PM   #2
Newbie my @$$!!
phbsales's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Location : Location
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10

This furnace needs to be set up properly, using a combustion analyzer by a trained professional. Sounds to me like it's a venting issue and needs a post-purge kit installed. This is a common problem with the induced-draft 80% furnaces.

The post-purge kit will help remove all the flue gasses from the heat exchanger (one of the by-products of combustion being water) thereby eliminating the need to keep draining that pesky pressure switch tube.

If this is a 90% furnace, check all condensate tubing to make sure the tubing itself is not trapped before it reaches the condensate trap.

On a side note, I would be hunting for a better service company.


Last edited by phbsales; 04-09-2009 at 12:47 PM.
phbsales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 06:27 PM   #3
HVAC / Plumbing
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000

sounds like you have consensate drain issues... Look for what ever is causing the blockage... Crimped hose ,etc
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 06:35 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
yuri's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 14,695
Rewards Points: 32

The drain hose/pipe leading from the outside of the furnace needs a open tee installed so it can siphon/drain properly. Had the exact same problem with one. Also the furnace needs to be sloped slightly to the front, about 1/4 to 1/2 inch. Imagine a tee with the branch sideways. Top part is open to atmosphere, side branch to furnace and bottom of tee to the floor drain. Carefully take the trap out and rinse it with hot water and a bit of bleach.

Last edited by yuri; 04-09-2009 at 06:43 PM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 07:01 AM   #5
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

Thanks all=I will pursue those fixes. Note: Unit was sold to me as a 94% furnace-I now see on Ducane web site 93% is highest? I HAVE stopped using service company that sold/installed it and it has cost them since- 5 referrals SO FAR!
rugger is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 07:01 PM
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 05:42 PM
Ducane Furnace - no heat dave_in_waterloo HVAC 4 09-19-2012 09:41 PM
Furnace Problem Juanacuna24 HVAC 1 12-28-2008 09:13 PM
another question for a miller furnace problem jb9270 HVAC 1 02-05-2007 02:04 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1